Sleeping Through the Night, Y’all!

I woke up this morning at 6:30 and realized I had not been woken up in the middle of the night for a feeding. I had put K-Dub to bed at 7 PM, and now almost twelve hours later, I hadn’t heard a peep. Of course, being a parent of an infant, my heart froze. I ran across the hall to his room and put my ear to the door to make sure he was breathing. He was. My heart resumed beating and I returned to bed. I lay there for another hour in that stage halfway between awake and asleep, trying to calculate exactly how much sleep I had gotten.  Wait, did I go to bed at 11:15 or 11:30? It matters. Every minute matters at this point.

Having gone through this whole infant stage once before, there is one thing I always try to remember: Enjoy every single night of good sleep you get, because you may not get one again for a while. Any parent knows, sleeping through the night is inconsistent at best for the first — and possibly even second — year.  I vividly remember when my older son learned to sit up, he was so excited about it, he would wake up in the middle of the night and sit up… then start wailing because he couldn’t remember how to lay back down.

Yes, my friends, sleep is a wonderful and precious thing, and a night filled with restful sleep is one to be cherished.

This entry was posted in parenting, sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sleeping Through the Night, Y’all!

  1. Bethany says:

    “Enjoy every single night of good sleep you get, because you may not get one again for a while.”Word.And I'm so glad you got some sleep. Bubs slept 0 hours the night before so last night was mostly divine.

  2. Christine says:

    I really enjoyed your blog post this morning, too, Bethany. I'm going to give some thought to my confessions then comment. 🙂

  3. Bethany says:

    Oh, good! I look forward to hearing your confessions 🙂

  4. Kath (Eating for Living) says:

    Good sleep is so precious! I'm definitely not getting enough, though, and I don't even have children.

  5. TheDearmanFamily says:

    As happy as I would like to pretend to be for you and your mental state, I am so fricking jealous that my heart is on fire.However, I do sincerely hope you have a repeat performance tonight.

  6. TheDearmanFamily says:

    How did last night go? A winner, I hope!Liza must have felt my animosity towards our lack of sleep and slept until 4:45 last night. A very big deal.

Leave a Reply

