Couch to 5k week 1 day 2

Couch 2 5k week 1 day 2
It took me 5 days to get to day 2 of my C25K program. With a husband out of town and a sick baby who had to stay home two days in a row, there was no way for me to get to the gym. So, with my babies both in daycare, and a huge snowstorm on the way, I knew yesterday was my only chance for a while. I’m so glad I got to the gym. The workout felt great, and I challenged myself a tiny bit more than day 1. Here’s the details:

  • I increased my running speed from 5.5 to 6.0, since I’ll have to run at least 6.0 mph to finish a 5k in 30 minutes.
  • I reduced my walking speed from 3.8 to 3.5 to help with recovery since I’m not used to running so fast.
  • My heart rate got well into the 170’s during the 60-second running intervals, and I could barely get it below160 during the 90-second walking intervals. This is not unusual for me, but I don’t like my heart rate to be in the 170’s for long.
  • Total distance 2.04 miles, which is slightly up from day 1’s 1.98 miles.
  • Overall, felt really good except for the high heart rate.
Breakfast Guess what I had for breakfast? That’s right, oatmeal! Oats, banana, flax seed meal, vanilla, brown sugar, and peanut butter. Mmmm.
Lunch Leftover meatball soup, leftover edamame and leftover quinoa that I had totally forgotten about. What a nice surprise to find it in the fridge! It went great with the edamame. 
Snack Dried apricots and a handful of Trader Joe’s dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds. OMG.
Dinner I made this chili which was amazingly delicious. I used this recipe almost exactly, except I used two cans of organic beans that were a mix of kidney, pinto, and black. I love black beans in chili. This chili was TO DIE FOR yum. Then we lost power and it all went bad. I could cry. Well, if I hadn’t made it, then the meat would have gone bad anyway. So at least I got to enjoy it for one day. *sniff*
RIP, delicious chili.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

