Couch to 5k Week 1 Wrap-Up

A little behind schedule, but I completed week 1 of C25K today.  w00t w00t!!!

The skinny:

5 minute warm-up @3.5
60 second Runs @6.1
90 second Walks @3.5
5 minute cool-down @3.5

I didn’t note the exact distance I went, because I idiotically hit a button on the treadmill that reset everything during my cool-down. Super.

I’m feeling pretty good about this. To be honest, I’m having trouble visualizing myself running at that 6.1 speed for 30 straight minutes, especially with my heart rate getting into the 170’s during my Runs. That being said, I feel great when I’m running.

I’m really looking forward to week 2, with 90 second Runs and 2 minute Walks.

Are you a runner? Do you wonder “how could anyone be so stressed out about a 5k?” or are you like “you go girl, everyone starts somewhere!!!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Couch to 5k Week 1 Wrap-Up

  1. Liz says:

    I'm like, you go girl! I did this program a few years ago, and while I never could get up to running more than a mile without stopping (I am a really really bad runner), I ran a pretty respectable 5k and had a blast doing it! When you're at that race, people are so supportive and the energy is fantastic. I cried when I finished. I haven't run much in the past year or so but I am excited to do another 5k after I'm done being knocked up!

  2. Christine says:

    Thanks, Liz! I seriously need the "you go, girl" right now! I am a really really bad runner too, which is why I am having trouble even visualizing 3.1 miles… eek! But here I go on week 2. I appreciate the support!

  3. Pingback: January Wrap-Up | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

