Chocolate Craving, Sardine Salad, Beef Stew, More Chocolate…

Last night I had the hugest chocolate craving. Like, give me chocolate or give me death.
(apologies, Mr. Henry)
I didn’t think shoveling chocolate chips in my mouth was a good idea (what was I thinking?) so I had some Newman O’s. Bleh. They are good, but the honest truth is they are not as good as Oreos.
(apologies, Mr. Newman)
Also, they don’t satisfy a chocolate craving. Weird, but true. Inyhoo, I woke up this morning still dreaming of chocolate, so I made this FIERCE bowl of oats.
1/3 cup oats
1/2 cup skim milk
1/2 cup water
1/2 banana
1 TBSP chia seeds (ch-ch-ch-CHIA!)
topped with peanut butter and chocolate chips
#omgyum
For lunch, I had sardine salad. I like sardines, but I usually eat them plain out of the can, on crackers. It’s sort-of boring. And really fishy.  So I watched this video from KERF and got inspired.
Sardines, red onion, celery, carrot. (not pictured: mustard, yogurt, and curry powder)
The cute little sardines…
Chopped carrot, celery, red onion, mustard, and plain greek yogurt. (The recipe called for mayo but I had to toss ours after the power outage. I substituted. Go me!)
I ate the sardine salad with these tasty crackers. The sardine salad was so mild that the taste of these crackers were almost overpowering. Amazing! I highly recommend you try this recipe.
Look at that deliciousness. Srsly.
Snack time… dried apricots and chocolate chips. That darned chocolate craving will not be satisfied!!!
Later snack time… fresh fruit… canteloupe, banana, blackberries, and pink grapefruit (it’s under there, I swear!)
Dinner tonight was beef stew from Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious, along with leftover asparagus and spinach. My son ate the beef and pasta separated, of course, but he ate it, so that’s a success! Husband loved this. I liked it but wish I’d used leaner beef. It’s definitely going on the “make again” list. Also, next time I’d like to make it with wheat berries (which I bought but haven’t tried yet), quinoa, or brown rice.  Pasta is just so heavy.
Do you like sardines? Have a good sardine recipe to share?

Do you ever get ridiculous chocolate cravings that just
Won’t. Go. Away…???
What do you eat to satisfy the craving, without chomping down ten Hershey bars?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chocolate Craving, Sardine Salad, Beef Stew, More Chocolate…

  1. J.D. Falk says:

    I've got a few good sardine recipes up at http://sardinefish.crazyandawesome.com/ — a weak foray into food blogging.

  2. Eww, I don’t like sardines. I ate fried smelt for the first time ever last Saturday and they were actually good, surprised myself by eating it.
    I love chia seeds and just made chia seed pudding yesterday, keeps me so full!
    Chocolate. Love it. I always have some frozen chocolate to munch on in the freezer. But chew some sugarfree gum or go brush your teeth so you don’t eat so much of it!

  3. Britta says:

    I *love* sardines on crackers, but never imagined they could be made into a salad! Thank you for the idea – I think I’ll gross out Mike with it tonight.

    • merf says:

      Let me know what you think of it. I was surprised by how different it tasted from plain sardines. I can’t wait to make it again!

  4. Pingback: Ben, Jerry, and Horatio | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

