Sick Days and Comfort Food

I took TWO sick days this past week. Two. Considering I work from home, that’s a pretty big deal. I mean, on a regular day when I don’t feel so hot, I can still usually sit in my office in my pajamas with a cup of tea, check email, and participate in conference calls. Not Thursday and Friday, I couldn’t. I was so heavily medicated, my brain was filled with cobwebs, and it was causing me to do some pretty dumb things… things that made me question whether I should be making important decisions. Or even trying to form complete sentences.

For instance, consider Thursday morning. I put my whistling tea kettle on the stove to heat up some water. Five-ish minutes later, I wondered why it was not yet whistling, so I went into the kitchen to check on it, and I saw THIS:

Wrong Burner

Yes, that’s right. I put the kettle on the wrong burner.

Friday morning, I opted for coffee. Heard the lovely “beep, beep, beep” signaling my coffee is ready, and went into the kitchen to find THIS:

Hot Water

Yes, that’s a pot of hot water. I forgot to add coffee grounds.

You see, folks, when I’m doing things like this, I realize it’s better to take a sick day rather than do something equally dumb on the job. I like my job, and I’d like to keep it.

When I am sick, I tend to eat a lot of comfort food, much of which is not too good for me. Here’s a sampling of what I ate over the last few days. I will spare you the pictures of the vitatop muffins with cream cheese, toaster waffles, and sausage. Soooo good but not very photogenic (like me!!).

My British breakfast of crumpets (with homemade raspberry-peach jam made by my awesome friend) and English Breakfast tea (after finally putting the tea kettle on the right burner):

Crumpets and Tea

Seaweed Salad (amaayyyyzing):

Seaweed Salad

Eggplant and Tofu in Garlic Sauce (with fried rice, mmmm):

Chinese Food

Super Amazing Yummy Oats with PB:

Oats

Oh, and today I tried my hand at making Kale Chips.

Kale Chips

They were meh. The first batch was way too salty, so I tossed them. Made another batch that was much better, but still not very exciting. Think I’ll try enjoying kale another way.

On the plus side, the Penicillin seems to be doing its thing. I can tell I’m getting better. Hooray!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sick Days and Comfort Food

  1. Cherry Lane says:

    Sorry you didn’t care for the kale chips. Hope you’re on the mend!

  2. Glad your antiobiotics are working and you’re on the mend! I will be sooooo happy to be done with mine. I’ve been on meds now for over two weeks, and I’ve had enough.

    Sorry you didn’t like the Kale Chips. I love them!! Especially with a little garlic (the Garlic Gold Sea Salt Nuggets work a treat), and I even put organic ketchup on them sometimes. Sounds weird, but is yummy, I swear.
    I also often put kale in soup… just made some Minestrone over the weekend, and have lots of leftovers for lunches this week.

    ~

    PS — I’m dying for your crumpets! I choose not to eat white flour if I can help it, and those look delicious! ahhh.

  3. Pingback: How Many Merfs Does It Take To Brew A Cup Of Coffee? | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

