Weekly Menu Planning 2/5/2011

This week’s meal plan:

Dinners

Lunches

Fruits and veggies: Broccoli, Asparagus, Brussels Sprouts, Cauliflower, Celery, Carrots, Cucumber, Avocado, Pear, Grapefruit, Grape Tomatoes, Salad

Grocery Budgeting

I’ve been reading a few blogs this past week about grocery shopping and budgeting. Tina from Carrots’n’Cake has a budget of $300/month for two people. Chelsey from Clean Eating Chelsey has a budget of $250/month for two people. I don’t really have a grocery budget. I track what we spend, and we make sure our spending isn’t out of line. But I don’t have a set amount to spend. I make a list and try not to buy too many things that aren’t on the list. When I buy things that aren’t on the list, that’s when I end up wasting food. For me, what is most important is that what I buy gets eaten. I’ll pay extra for organic, whole, real foods, if it all gets eaten. But to throw something away is what makes me feel wasteful. What I do now is, when I see something I want while grocery shopping, I write it down. When I get home, I decide whether I really want it, and if so, I add it to the list for next time.

What’s on your menu for this week? Do you have a grocery budget? How do you keep from wasting money on food?

This entry was posted in budget, menu planning. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Menu Planning 2/5/2011

  1. Oh my gosh – I spend way too much money on food – just 1 of me and spend the amount for 2 people – EEK!…I should budget…it's another “avoidance” behaviour of mine.

    Meatball soup?! 🙂 Yum.

    You work from home? What is your job?!!

  2. merf says:

    The meatball soup is so good. I made it a couple of weeks ago, then we had a power outage and the leftovers went bad. I was so mad! So I'm making it again. It's very simple, though. I have to make food that is palatable for a preschooler.

    I actually have a normal job with a normal company. They just happen to be headquartered in New York, so I work out of my home office. Some days I think I'm so lucky. Some I'm just lonely. (future blog post, hehe)

  3. Yikes!!! I spend a lot on food. I am unsure of how to actually keep myself in a budget when it comes to what I eat. I put a priority on the food I eat so I find a way to make it happen! I prob spend around $200/month but that is for one person, sometimes two if I am cooking for my bf.

  4. Kath (Eating for Living) says:

    I don't make meal plans, but I have a budget. This month, it's “at least as possible”, because I haven't gotten the payment for my job at uni so far. I hope next month will be better. A few things I do when times are getting harder (again):

    – no eating out
    – eating as simple and as possible
    – no hungry shopping
    – no organic foods as long as they're not much more expensive than regular
    – going for fruit and vegs that are in season and pricy compared to the rest
    – more chicken and turkey, less seafood and beef

    Gah. 😦

  5. I'm in the midst of trying to put a reasonable budget together for the two of us…. but haven't yet settled on a number. It will definitely be a “monthly” allowance, as opposed to a “weekly” one, that much I know for sure. I think there is a lot more flexibility with that. I'm not trying to limit us, but just to control the sometimes out of control spending habits that I get into.

    As for meals plans, this week I have Emily's Veggie Masala burgers in the works for tonight, along with roasted Brussels and potatoes (for T). Tues and Wed we don't do dinner together due to our schedules, so I don't “have” to cook… I usually whip something up for myself, a garbanzo bean salad, etc… one of the nights and make eggs or something on the other night. Thursday we are having Lasagna (that I will be making ahead on Wed night. I have already cooked and frozen the grass-fed local beef for it). And I don't have anything planned beyond that. I can still claim illness as my excuse for my disorganization this week! 😉

    ~

Leave a Reply

