The Merf’s New Clothes

I realized this morning that I have nothing to wear to my conference in Orlando in nine days. None of my pre-pregnancy clothes fit. I have one pair of jeans that fits well and a pair of corduroys that I can squeeze into, but neither are conference worthy. This means…

I have to go shopping.

I am the world’s worst clothes shopper. I get so nervous when I go clothes shopping. I really don’t know why. Much like my inability to experiment with food or just “throw things together,” I have never been good at putting different pieces together to make outfits. Instead, my tendency is to go into a store like Ann Taylor Loft, look at the mannequin, and say “I’ll take that.” That pretty much guarantees that I spend the maximum amount of money possible. Not ideal.

So, Husband and J-Man are headed to the gym, and I and the baby are headed to the mall.  My palms are clammy. I already called my mom and asked if she’ll meet me there for moral support. Plus, she has a good eye, despite her predilection for sparkles.

Wish me luck. I need it.

This entry was posted in clothes, life, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Merf’s New Clothes

  1. Yikes – good luck! The mall on a Saturday can get pretty dicey! Of course, the promise of new clothes at the end isn't so bad : )

  2. My heart goes out to you, my friend and shopping-catastrophe buddy! IT'S A NIGHTMARE – when you need something particular, you can be sure you won't find it! My thumbs are crossed!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Good luck! I don't envy you. Shopping for new clothes is exhausting to me. 🙂

  4. Good luck girlie!! I love shopping but I am terrible at putting outfits together.

  5. Kim says:

    Did you find anything?

  6. Hannah says:

    Good luck! I usually hate clothes shopping too, unless it's the one or two times a year when the mood strikes. Give me book shopping or grocery shopping instead anyday!

Leave a Reply

