How Many Merfs Does It Take To Brew A Pot Of Coffee?

Yesterday’s shopping adventure was a big success, and I now have conference-worthy clothes that fit! So glad I had my mom with me. I’m horrible at navigating the department store, always going straight to the mannequin in the middle wearing the most expensive clothes. My mom can seek out the sales, she has a good idea of what looks good on me, and she’s really good at spotting the perfect outfit for a specific occasion. Plus — and this is critical in a shopping buddy — she is honest when something doesn’t look good on me. I always know when I go shopping with my mom that I will walk out of the store with purchases that make me look my best.

Fast forward to this morning. I was trying to do too many things at once, including make a pot of coffee. I have a history of coffee fails. I should know better than to try to do ANYTHING before putting the coffee on. So there I am, putting the coffee grounds in the machine, and I realized I had lost count. I dumped the grounds out into a bowl, put the paper filter back in, then re-counted the grounds. Hit brew and went back to making breakfast… until I noticed coffee spilling over the counter and onto the kitchen floor. Husband and I were looking at it, trying to figure out what was going wrong (looking for all the things I usually do wrong in my coffee fails). I had the lid closed tight, the carafe in straight… Then Husband says, you forgot to put the basket in! The what?

Coffee Basket
Oh, that. You have to use that?

Sad Coffee Maker

If you cannot see me, I am a coffee maker covered in steaming water and coffee grounds. 😦

Evidently you do.

So, I cleaned up as much as I could, then Husband said I should run the brew cycle to clean all the water and grounds out. So, I did. But guess what I forgot…

Remember me?

Coffee Basket
Yep, forgot it again. So, my coffee maker was now officially very very sad.

Barfy Coffee Maker

I finally got everything cleaned up, put that darned basket in the machine, a new filter, filled it with water, carefully counted eight scoops of coffee, hit the brew button, and…

Mug of Coffee
So worth it. Ahhh…

After I got my coffee fix, we headed out to the Newseum with our Groupon! The Newseum is very cool. Husband and I had been to the Newseum before, but not since it moved from Arlington, VA, to DC. My 4-year-old really enjoyed the museum, and for the most part I was okay with him being exposed to all the material. The Pulitzer prize-winning photography exhibit had many photos of starving children, wounded people, war, etc., which I thought were too intense and graphic for him. Fortunately, I was easily able to get him to focus on the photos of animals and sports. There were some excellent photos from different Olympic Games. The other part of the Newseum that I skipped was the 9-11 exhibit. Fortunately, it was easy to bypass without him seeing too much.

Lunch at the Newseum was excellent. I ate from the salad bar, which was stocked with a huge variety of beautifully fresh toppings. I had Romaine, chicken, garbanzo bean salad, red bell pepper, carrot, artichoke hearts, roasted red peppers, sunflower seeds, bleu cheese, and blackberries. I ate every speck.

Salad
Dinner was an amazing vegetarian melange of leftovers. Half a pinto burger with chipotle mayonnaise (from Let’s Dish), Trader Joe’s haricots verts, black beans and rice with chimichurri salsa, and two pieces of fried plantain. #omgyum.

Dinner

And for dessert tonight, I had some snickerdoodle hummus and chocolate chips. Dessert hummus. What a great idea!

Snickerdoodle hummus and chocolate chips
… and a mug of Earl Grey tea.

Dessert and Tea
Great way to end the night!

Why is it so darned hard to brew a simple cup of coffee?

Have you ever tried a dessert hummus? This was so good and I want to try more. Got recipes?

This entry was posted in children, coffee, dessert hummus, eat, life, salad. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to How Many Merfs Does It Take To Brew A Pot Of Coffee?

  1. This story had me cracking up! I am serious about my morning coffee too!! I have yet to try the dessert hummus, but it is next on my list of things to make!

  2. Kim says:

    #1 – clearly, I should have read the first part of this post before I commented on the last post.

    #2 – I gave you that coffee mug — I'm so excited that you still use it!!! πŸ™‚

  3. merf says:

    Who needs dessert hummus when you have red velvet cake balls (still going…)

  4. merf says:

    #1 – I am going to post some pics. Would love your feedback because you have lovely taste in clothes.

    #2 – Those are my mostest favoritest mugs. I hate everything about winter except those mugs. πŸ™‚

  5. ahhhh you just made me sooooo hungry!!!!!!!! it all looks awwwwesome! ❀

  6. I need to make a real dessert hummus! I just discovered chocolate chips in my freezer that I'm eating right now. I want to save them to make that hummus πŸ™‚

  7. I hate making coffee I wish I had a live in barista like those commercials! My boyfriend and I missed the Newsuem when we were in DC and if we go back decided we had to go there! I haven't tried dessert hummus but it sounds…interesting? Does it taste hummus-y at all?

  8. Kristina says:

    HA-hilarious! Thankfully I don't drink coffee or i'd prob be in the same boat! I've never had dessert hummus but I LOVE HUMMUS!

  9. merf says:

    Love making people hungry…

  10. merf says:

    It doesn't really taste hummus-y, unless you're really paying attention. It tastes more like cinnamon scone batter.

  11. merf says:

    My next dessert hummus needs to have chocolate in it.

  12. Oh my goodness this food looks awesome!! You have a great blog!

  13. After all this talk about dessert hummus, I want some! It looks like cookie dough…YUM! I looooovvve groupon too, so many good deals!

  14. I'm not going to lie – I've definitely done that with my coffee before (or more than once…)

  15. Dessert hummus kinda scares me, but everyone is raving so I feel like I need to!

  16. merf says:

    I think there's a cookie dough hummus recipe, too. I'm going to have to try it.

  17. merf says:

    Thanks, Alicia!

  18. merf says:

    It is a weird concept, but tasty!

  19. merf says:

    As many coffee fails as I've had, this was a first.

  20. DESSERT HUMMUS!? I've never heard of such a thing… but I'm intrigued! I want that in my mouth too!

Leave a Reply

