Walt Disney: 1, Merf: 0

Where have I been, you ask? Well, I spent most of last week at a conference in Orlando, Florida. The trip began something like this:

The scene begins in the lobby of a resort in Walt Disney World. Merf steps up to the marble counter…

Merf: Hello, I’m checking in. Reservation for Merf.
Hotel Check In Guy: Merf… Merf… Merf… Excuse me…
Merf:
Hotel Check In Guy:
Merf: What’s wrong?
Hotel Check In Guy: Were you supposed to check in yesterday?
Merf:
Hotel Check In Guy: Because your reservation shows you checking in yesterday. And you didn’t. So we gave away your room.
Merf: You canceled my six-night reservation — when I had pre-paid the first night — without notification?
Hotel Check In Guy: It’s our automated system, you see…
Merf: Okay, well, I’m here. Where’s my room?
Hotel Check In Guy: You have no room. We are at 100% occupancy for the duration of your stay.

Lucky for me, one of my best friends was at the same conference and invited me to crash in her room. (Thanks, M!) It was a long week. I am exhausted. I finished my second course of antibiotics on Monday and could already feel the familiar tickle of strep throat by Tuesday night. It got worse as the week went on. I stayed an extra day after my conference, intending to spend the day galavanting around Epcot. Instead, I spent that entire day in my hotel room. I kept the curtains closed, ate room service, and watched the CW.

Tomorrow I have a CT scan of my head in the morning and an ENT appointment in the afternoon. I’m hoping I can get my tonsils out in the next couple of weeks, so I can put an end to this. I have forgotten what it’s like to swallow without pain.

But that’s enough whining from me. Right now I have better things to do, like compose a harshly worded letter to Walt Disney about their dumb automated system that cancels a six night reservation without even sending an email.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Walt Disney: 1, Merf: 0

  1. sorry about the trouble, but at least you have somewhere to stay! hope it gets better.

  2. Rach says:

    Oh my goodness, that’s awful! 😦

  3. What a mess! Glad you found a place to stay. Ugh, but seriously, what a nightmare!

  4. Awww, that really sucks! Glad your friend was able to help, but I am really sorry to hear you’ve been so sick, that is miserable!! Feel better soon! 🙂

    I’ve noticed more and more companies doing things like that without any kind of notice, what is that about? It’s bad enough they cancelled your reservation, but they could have given you a heads up!

  5. Oh no! Hope your trip gets better 🙂

  6. Merf's Husband says:

    I’d say the score is WDW: 2, Merf: 1. We took J-Man (then 3 y.o.) to WDW last year, and had a blast – despite it being about 45 degrees and drizzly the whole time. WIN.

    About 5 years ago, we went to WDW on an awesome adults-only trip with a big group of friends/colleagues, and half way thru, Merf got violently ill, and missed the last day and a half – wait for it – holed up in the hotel room (SAME hotel, no less) just waiting for our flight home. Had to sell off the last park-hopper day and missed the Magic Kingdom. Boo.

  7. I think you stayed at the hotel I stayed at for my Princess Half Marathon but I wasn’t sure if you weren’t saying the name for any specific reason. When we left on Sunday they were preparing for a huge weeklong conference and there were tons of tents set up and people arriving. I am a WDW lover but have had trouble with their online system before, it charged my credit card twice. I always make sure to call from now on and speak with an actual person otherwise I end up getting hugely frustrated!

    • merf says:

      I was at the Contemporary. I didn’t post it until I’d left. I’m weird like that. 🙂

      How did you do at the Princess? (heading over to your blog to see!!!)

  8. Yay you’re back! 😀 I was afraid C25K might have bullied you away … 😕

    • merf says:

      I am back. But I will disappear again tomorrow. Can’t wait to get off this roller-coaster! I tried to catch up on your funny little life this morning but your site wasn’t loading. 😦

  9. Still wondering what the “Merf” actually is about …

Leave a Reply

