I Can’t Stay Awake Long Enough To…

I keep trying to write a blog post, but when I try to type, I end up writing a bunch of gibberish or I fall asleep in the middle of typing. This pain medication has turned me into a narcoleptic, I swear. But I can’t live without it. I tried stretching myself to 5 hours between doses, and I couldn’t take it. The pain was so intense and it felt like my throat was swelling up. It got hard to swallow, and that’s the scariest thing. So, I’m still taking the medication every four hours.

But even when I’m awake, typing is a challenge. My fingers feel like kielbasas, and they have very little chance of hitting the intended keys. It takes me longer to correct my typos than it did to write the original post! Sometimes I stare at a sentence and can’t even figure out what it was supposed to say, so I just delete it.  I probably should have posted some of these just for the comedic value!

Food is still limited to soft, mushy things. Last night I had meatloaf and mashed potatoes which was awesome.

I’ve been having scrambled eggs for breakfast, but today I branched out and tried my new specialty — poached egg! I have always wanted to poach eggs and had no idea how easy it is. Seriously, all you do is bring water to a boil, then reduce heat so there are just a few bubbles coming up, then carefully drop your egg in.

Let it sit there for 4 or so minutes and voila!

Of course, it tastes best on top of bread or potatoes, and with salt and pepper. But today I had to enjoy it plain.

In addition to eggs, some other things have been keeping me alive these few days:

 

Wish I had more exciting stuff to tell you, but seriously, my brain is like

This entry was posted in health, tonsillectomy, tonsils. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Can’t Stay Awake Long Enough To…

  1. Hope you feel back to normal soon!!

  2. I hope you're feeling better! Eat lots of ice cream 🙂

  3. Cindy says:

    This is going to seem like a very strange comment, but I just wanted to tell you I have that exact vintage “jello” jello mold. After seeing your post, I'm totally inspired to use them (I have 4, they are individual-sized). Glad you're eating healthy and recovering w/ aid of xanax. We have to get together soon!

  4. I've had poached egg (in a hotel in Tunesia, for breakfast), but never made it myself. Great you're enjoying the greenies! 😀 I hope all your fabulous foods will help yout to get on your feet again soon!

Leave a comment