What I Ate Wednesday

Here’s a “What I Ate Wednesday” post for Jennifer at Peas & Crayons! Happy birthday, Jenn!

Breakfast

Today, I attempted a triumphant return to oats…

Look at me! Aren't I pretty?

Merf was so excited about me!

but my taste buds were not having it. They thought I had served them cardboard instead.

Mmm, cardboard fries!

[source]

I’ve definitely noticed since the surgery that my taste seems off. Some things taste perfectly fine, while others don’t taste normal at all.  That was the case with my poor oats this morning.  They looked beautiful, but after I choked down about 1/3 of it, the rest got dumped in the trash. Wah.

For lunch, continuing with my Solidarity with Japan, I decided to head out for sushi with my mom. Since I’d eaten such a small breakfast, I was starving and ordered something that I would ordinarily devour in minutes. Chirashi!

It was the most beautiful chirashi I have ever seen!

Unfortunately, my eyes were bigger than my stomach, which is still the size of a walnut after not eating a real meal for two weeks. So, while the sushi tasted amazing, I had only a few pieces before I was full. I should have known better than to think I could eat all that. Wah again.

Mid-afternoon snack

“Mean” Smoothie

This smoothie was a mishmash of stuff. It wasn’t one of my best creations. It didn’t taste bad, it was just schizophrenic. Competing flavors, so nothing really stood out. I did drink it from my Guinness mug in honor of St. Patty’s Day (which I realize is tomorrow, yes).

Remember, people, Guinness is the reason for the season!

But the worst thing about this smoothie was… it was mean!

And I don’t use the word “mean” to mean “fierce” or “amazing”. I use the word “mean” as in “Ow! What the hell?! What are you doing to me?”  For some reason, this smoothie burned my tender throat. I can’t figure out which of the ingredients deserves to be punished, though. My bet is on the strawberries. They looked so sweet, but they may be evil.

[source]

In the mix:

  • Almond Milk
  • Vanilla Chobani
  • 1/2 Banana
  • ~5 whole frozen strawberries
  • 1 handful spinach
  • Chocolate protein powder

Every sip made me want to cry.

Dinner

Thankfully, dinner hit the spot!  I had “sauteed shrimp with feta and orzo” from Let’s Dish. I love Let’s Dish because the meals are sooo easy to prepare and are so delicious!  If you’re not familiar with Let’s Dish, it’s an awesome place where you can go, follow their recipes to package frozen meals to prepare later. For an amateur cook like me, it is great!

Tonight, all I had to do was saute the onion:

Stir in the diced tomato and herbs:

Stir in the shrimp:

Done!

Okay, to be honest, I had to boil the orzo, too, but I forgot to take a picture.

On the side, I had these mashed sweet potatoes my hubby bought me because he knew it would be easy for me to eat post-surgery (aww!). Next to it is my coconut butter, ready to melt.

The end result was sooooo good!!!

Ohmigosh, did I mention the feta?!?!

Okay, it’s so late. I need to finish watching American Idol on the DVR and get my bootie to bed!  Who’s your favorite this season? I’m not in love with any of them. Although right now Stefano is singing “If You Don’t Know Me By Now” by Simply Red and it’s Simply Outstanding!!! (<- wow, that was so cheesy, I definitely need sleep)

Oh, and one more thing. Can someone explain to me why every single contestant holds up their fingers when their phone number is being read off?  Ryan saying the number, and the number being written on the bottom of the screen, is clear enough. The contestant fumbling with their microphone to try to hold up 9 fingers? Not helping. Just sayin’.

Night!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What I Ate Wednesday

  1. Priyanka says:

    The shrimp dish looks delicious, so does the Japanese Chirashi!

  2. Wow, we had some similar eats today! I had a smoothie, coconut, and shrimp! Funny!

  3. Hannah says:

    I am so in awe of you putting together such delicious eats when you’re still recovering! Far better than I could ever do in such a situation!

  4. Grace says:

    Wow! Your dinner looks so yummy! Hope your taste buds and throat and what not start to feel better soon!

  5. Yum! You just made me hungry! I think I need to go eat something…

  6. Hey! Thanks for finding me 🙂 That oatmeal looks soooo good! What kind of surgery did you just have?

    Have a great day 🙂

  7. LauraJayne says:

    I think it’s very important to start celebrating St. Patty’s Day early – and since I am of Scandinavian ancestry, I am “basically” Irish, being across the channel (and then some..) and all. It would be disloyal NOT to celebrate for at least a week!

  8. ok everything looks SO FLIPPING GOOD! The chirashi IS totally beautiful and one of my favorite things to order!!! and the feta veggies? ohmygosh yummmm! and the shrimp… and… well i’m just drooling!

    sowwy your smoothie bit back! thanks for the bday wishes lovey!!! I have your thumbnail and link up at the par-tay over at my site! mwah!!!!!!

  9. OMG, I absolutely *adore* your chirashi sushi! It looks soooooooooooo delicious! 😀 I hope your throat pain is getting better gradually!

  10. Pingback: Raw and Wriggling | My Funny Little Life

  11. Hope you’re feeling better soon! Feta makes everything better 🙂

  12. That is the prettiest sushi platter I’ve ever seen! Too bad you couldn’t enjoy it as well as you would have liked. Here’s hoping your recovery goes quick!

  13. Hopefully your tastes will be back to normal soon! Feta & tomato sauce goes SO well together, yum!

  14. Allison says:

    Wow what a great day of food!!! I wish mine looked like that lately! I love the pic of cardboard food, hilarious!

  15. Your dinner looks amazing!! Shrimp is so delicious! I’m sorry about the mean smoothie! That stinks!

  16. LOL at the cardboard food, your oats do look super yummy, sorry they were disappointing! 😦

    I love topping random stuff with feta or goat cheese, it takes everything up a notch, that whole meal sounds delicious!!

Leave a Reply

