Welcome, Spring! Please Stay!

I started my day with two mini pumpkin quinoa muffins. They are so delicious. I’m going to make a new batch tomorrow, and leave the walnuts out of half. My preschooler wasn’t too happy about the walnuts. He loves walnuts, just not “in stuff.” Kids.

For my mid-morning snack, I tried to make Tina’s Gingerbread Smoothie, but I didn’t have vanilla protein powder, so I improvised.

In the mix:

  • ~ 1 cup almond milk
  • ~ 1 cup vanilla Chobani (I just threw in what was left in the container)
  • Ice
  • Cinnamon
  • Ginger

I just kept adding cinnamon and ginger until I liked the taste. In the end, it was a tad too ginger-y, so next time I’ll make sure I add more cinnamon than ginger.  But it was delicious and I can’t wait to make it again!!!

See the little specks of cinnamon?

I think it might be time to put the pinecone decorations away since it’s SPRING!!!

I had lunch at 11:30 because I couldn’t wait to have more of my Edamame, Mushroom, and Kale soup. Today, I added some salt and pepper, and it livened up the broth a bit without overshadowing the harmonious flavors of the mushrooms, edamame, squash, and kale. Mmm.

I don’t know what it was about today, but I was craving sweets the entire day. So, after lunch, I decided to make something that had been on my list for a while, Baking ‘n’ Books’ Single-Serving Coconut-Chocolate-Chip Cookie. I followed the recipe exactly. I can’t wait to make one next time a craving strikes!

I almost made a double batch because I was dubious that a “single serve” cookie could ever satisfy me, but this was huge!

Oh, I just noticed the coconut flakes. I added those because I accidentally used peanut butter instead of coconut butter.

My afternoon snack was Angela’s Easy Salt & Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas. I followed the recipe exactly, and they are delicious. I love salt & vinegar chips, and I love chickpeas, and mixing the two was a stellar idea. And they are even better in my Washington Nationals ice cream cup!

After I picked up the kids, we walked around the yard and took pictures of the landscape, to record the first day of Spring! Needless to say, the landscape needs major work.

The empty containers on my front porch:

One of my first landscaping endeavors was planting bulbs in the fall of 2009. They bloomed last spring and are blooming again. I am thrilled!

There was a bee doing his thing…

I love that they are pink and purple. So springy!

The lamb’s ear… I think I need to clean out the dead stuff:

The bulbs and lilies around my light post. Think my light post needs to be painted? :-O

This is my vegetable garden. It needs to be seriously weeded.  I can’t wait for it to be full of ripe tomatoes, summer squash, green beans, and whatever else I decide to plant this year!

You can see above, I cut my rose bush down to about 2′ high (it was about 11′ high) last week. I wonder if it will grow back?

Back inside, I set about making dinner. J-Man wanted pita pizza again. Hey, he’s 4. But I didn’t want him to have cheese pizza a second night in a row, so I decided to hide some ham in it.

Covered with cheese. Think he’ll notice the ham?

Here’s the final product.  It took two bites for him to notice the ham. But he was cool about it and ate almost the entire thing.

My dinner was amayyz. I had one last piece of whole wheat pita, so I went with a Boca Burger again.

This time I used BBQ sauce instead of ketchup.

Topped with spinach, green bell pepper, avocado slices, and served with a half grapefruit.

It’s all about baseball today. Yes, we are Washington Nationals fans. No, it’s not because we enjoy seeing our team win (obviously). But hey, it’s our hometown team, and there is beer at the games. Win.

That’s it for today, folks! It’s 9:57 PM. What are the chances I will have my eyes closed by 10??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Welcome, Spring! Please Stay!

  1. Gorgeous flowers! I actually got some a few weeks ago & somehow miraculously they’re still alive (I usually manage to kill flowers within a week or two!) I’m knocking on wood that it keeps up!

  2. Hannah says:

    Seeing as I just posted that chocolate mug cake, I definitely need to make a single serving cookie. And thank you for reminding me about the chickpea recipe, I meant to make that ages ago and forgot!

  3. Baking 'n' Books says:

    YAY – THANKS MERF!! Coconut flakes are a great idea!

    So glad you can eat again. And love the spring flowers. We actually had lovely weather for a while – and grass! – and then another dump of snow yesterday. Blech.

  4. Oh, I love your garden! I so much want to have one myself some day – I know it’s laborous, but digging around in the soil is so calming and down-to-earth (something I could need a lot ;))! At least, I can do some garden work in the courtyard beds where I live. 🙂

    And that lovely soup again … myam myam myam! Also, love your smoothie and the roasted chickpeas! I know, I’m officially not into chickpeas, but there might be a day when this changes, and vinegar and roasting might play a role in that! 😀

  5. Those flowers are just beautiful! So happy to see signs of spring :).

  6. I was just thinking about those salt and vinegar chickpeas a few days ago and totally forgot about them until I saw this post, so I definitely have to make them soon!

  7. So much good food! I’ve never had cinnamon in a smoothie before, but I love love that spice, so I need to try that! The flowers are looking so pretty!

  8. Pumpkin quinoa muffins…those sound fantastic! Never tried baking with quinoa, but I might have to check that out. Also, so jealous that signs of spring are popping up in your yard. I can’t decide whether it’s too early to plant yet.

  9. Cherry Lane says:

    I can empathize with J-man: I love bananas, as long as they’re not “in things.”

    Pretty Hyacinths!

    The great thing about a veggie garden: a hoe makes short work of those weeds, and there’s nothing in your way that you have to weed around. Your rose should be fine.

    Now I want a cookie.

  10. The chickpeas look awesome! I saved the recipe and am going to make them VERY soon…salt & vinegar is my fav 🙂

  11. Kristina says:

    Alright, you all need to stop blogging about the spring weather-it’s snowing here tomorrow!!!!
    Your eats look so good!!! Love the “hat cup”

  12. Did you get my tweet about the sprouted tofu? =)

    I totally want to steal some of that avocado off your burger! and omg! your soup! it looks fantastic!!!!!! I want it nooooow! ❤

  13. LauraJayne says:

    We are big National’s fans too! My dad grew up in the DC area and, like the Redskins, we always joke that we were genetically predisposed to be Nat’s fans!

  14. Pingback: Q1 2011 Performance Review | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

