Time Doesn’t Fly When Your Butt Is Being Kicked

It turns out, going to bed by 10:00 PM is very difficult. Last night, I got my older son to bed at 8:50 PM, and 10:00 just came too quickly after that. I felt like I didn’t get enough “me” time to unwind. I have things I need/want to do, that I can’t do when my kids are up — read, exercise, surf the ‘net, read blogs, watch CSI, etc., and an hour or two isn’t enough to keep up.

Time Flies! [source]

Last night at ten, I was going to run upstairs and get in bed, then I realized I hadn’t cleaned the kitchen. I ended up getting to bed thirty minutes late, at 10:30.

As I was lying in bed, one thought did occur to me. Right now, I am going to bed earlier, but not getting up any earlier in the morning. Theoretically, going to bed earlier should mean that I can get up earlier, and maybe accomplish some of those “me” things before the rest of the family wakes up. So this morning, I did just that. I got up before the kids and did Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD.

I did level 1 (the easiest) and followed the instructor doing the modified “beginner” moves. And I have to be honest, despite Jillian yelling at me “It’s a 20 minute workout! No breaks! You won’t see results if you take breaks!”…

I took breaks.

For some reason, time does not fly when your butt is being kicked. Holy crap, I am out of shape. This DVD might be the best $9.99 I ever spent. I think with my current schedule, working out at home with DVDs may be the way to go for me during the week. Do you have any workout DVDs that you recommend?

Okay, that’s all for today. There is a marathon of some sort in town this weekend, and I am very excited because some great bloggers are going to be here! I’m going to my first blogger meet-up this Friday night and will get to meet Holly, Evan, Beth, and some other bloggers I idolize respect.

Also, while I have you here, can you help me with something blog-related? When I leave comments on peoples’ wordpress blogs, my avatar is a randomly-generated icon. How can I set up my own picture?

*note: I amended the original title of this post, “Time Doesn’t Fly When You’re Butt Is Being Kicked.”  You’re? You’re? Really? *sigh*

This entry was posted in fitness, jillian michaels, life, time management. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Time Doesn’t Fly When Your Butt Is Being Kicked

  1. I'm on level one… IT KICKS MY BUTT!!!!!!!!!!!!! I fell off the wagon with doing it though — no bueno! Def time to start up the shred again!!!! =)

  2. Allison says:

    Ive never done any of Jillians dvds but I have heard they are great! Id prob take a few breaks too which is why I try to take classes at a gym! Otherwise its too easy to stop.

  3. I have that DVD and she is sooo mean! I feel like kicking her butt! My favorite workout DVD is Turbo Jam Fat Blaster a high calorie workout in 30 butt kicking minutes. It's tough but I love it!

    I think if you want your avatar to appear on wordpress you just need to set up a gravatar? I think…

  4. Oh man- you just reminded me that I have to do this today! I've done it a few times, but I officially 'started' yesterday- so I am on Day 2. Only 28 more days left after this 🙂

  5. I love that DVD! Jillian is my favorite workout buddy! 🙂 I'm pretty sure you can change the graphic in your User settings – My profile!

  6. I've heard tons of good things about Jillian's DVDs! SOme of my favs are turbo jam, you sweat alot, but it's so fun!

  7. I haven't tried this DVD, but I know from other ones that Jillian is a killer! I've seen this one all over the place lately so I should definitely give it a try!

  8. Grace says:

    Oh how I love grammar mistakes, I make them all the time:)

  9. Love The Shred! I do the DVD a few times a week. It's a great workout when you're in a time crunch. I also am a big fan of Billy Blanks bootcamp DVD :).

Leave a Reply

