Can It Really Be Over?

Yesterday, I woke up just feeling the need to work out.

Woo Hoo!

[source]

Actually, I wake up with that urge pretty often, but it’s been a long time since I’ve felt healthy enough to actually do it. For about five years now, I’ve suffered from chronic strep throat, tonsillitis, and respiratory infections. I’ve been pumping my body full of antibiotics, which kept the infections under control but left me feeling anything but energetic and healthy. In those five years, I have also gone through two pregnancies, which caused severe anemia. (My babies love to steal my iron!) If you don’t know much about anemia, basically it means my body wasn’t getting enough oxygen, leaving me lethargic. And when I say lethargic, I mean there were days where I skipped meals because the thought of getting up off the couch to go into the kitchen was too much.

[source]

After years of suffering illnesses that always seemed to strike at the least opportune moments, I decided to do something about it. In February, I got strep again, along with a sinus infection. I was put on antibiotics for ten days, during which I felt great and started running again. But the day after I finished the antibiotics, the sore throat came back. That’s when I knew that my doctor was right. The strep was not going anywhere, and the only way for me to feel better for good was to have my tonsils removed.

So, almost three weeks ago, I did just that. Adult tonsillectomies are, shall we say, brutal. For a kid, it’s like two days of ice cream and back to school. For an adult, it’s two weeks of extreme pain and regret. Adult tonsils are simply not as easy to remove as the tonsils of children, so the surgery is much more invasive and causes much more damage to the throat. The healing process is extremely painful and sometimes scary. But, from what I understand, it’s totally worth it. The years of chronic illness suddenly stop, never to return.

[source]

So, when I woke up yesterday feeling ready to work out, I was excited, nervous, optimistic, and anxious, all at the same time. I love exercise, love going to the gym, love that feeling the morning after a great workout, when you can feel muscles in your body that you didn’t even know you had. But for years now, my fitness goals have been constantly interrupted by illnesses that would take weeks to recover from. Every time I’d get into a good workout routine, I’d get strep or a sinus infection, always followed by a respiratory infection, that would take upwards of a month to recover from.

So right now, I’m feeling really apprehensive. I want to pick up where I left off with C25k. I want to get back to the gym. But I feel like the second I do, the rug will be pulled out from under me again. I’m so used to getting sick, it’s hard for me to imagine that it could really be over.

[source]

Can it really be over?

Honestly, I can’t wrap my head around it. I actually have a slight respiratory infection right now (like I said, a respiratory infection always follows my illnesses), and those typically take a couple of weeks to fully disappear. But once it does, could that be it? Could I be … healthy?

Until my lungs are in full working order again, I’m going to stick to strength-based exercises that don’t make me too winded. Today, I did Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown.

It’s the second time I’ve done this DVD, and I really like it. It’s challenging and fun. But if you’re a yoga purist, this may not be the DVD for you. I mean, on what other yoga videos do you hear the instructor say “rep it out”?!?!

The DVD has level 1 and level 2. I am, of course, on level 1. My favorite poses in this workout are the camel pose and warrior 3.

The camel pose is a backbend pose and feels amazing. (and also a little scary)

[source]

And I’ve always been a fan of Warrior 3 because I have pretty good balance. (of course we like the poses we are good at, right?)

[source]

Okay, it’s time for bed. I’m going to post this in the morning. I just stayed up way too late watching American Idol. I’m really into it this season! At first, I didn’t like the final pool of contestants, but some of them are winning me over. Last night, I rewound and rewatched Jacob Lusk’s performance at least five times. Incredible.

Ā 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5op5xC_h0k0

Who is your favorite on American Idol?

Do you practice yoga? Favorite yoga DVD?

xo!

This entry was posted in fitness, health, illness, jillian michaels, tonsillectomy, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Can It Really Be Over?

  1. I haven't watched AI this year, but JLO and Stephen Tyler look like a hoot.

    That's pretty crazy about all those illnesses. I'm honestly not sure I'd be able to handle that.

  2. I'm glad you're feeling great, and I hope it sticks! I got my wisdom teeth out in November and I was a mess for weeks. I know it probably doesn't compare, but I'm here for you! šŸ™‚ I love that DVD too, by the way! Always leaves me so sore!

  3. Woohoo! Yay for you! It's so good that you are getting back at it! I can only imagine how tough it is after 5 years of various illnesses – it really can cause havoc on your system. But the best thing is that your moving forward and all you need to do is small baby steps to get going…

    I'm not a Yoga purist and one of my favorites is Yoga Booty ballet. I'm a sucker for late night infomercials and bought the whole set. I have no regrets – It's a great fun workout!

  4. omg, i had to have my tonsils removed as an adult and it was HORRIBLE!!!! Worst medical experience I have EVER HAD!!!! The recovery was horrible! On Day#1, my mom took a picture of me when I'd just arrived home. I had bloody gauze in my mouth, with drool dribbling onto my shirt, and was completely “out of it” from all the medicine & from coming out of anesthesia. Pretty sexy. Thanks for capturing that, Mom!
    Anyways – so happy you're feeling better!!!!

  5. I feel for you! I had my tonsils removed when I was 16 and it was the worst experience of my life…until I had a back injury and back surgery 1 1/2 years ago. The surgeon who did my tonsillectomy wanted me to eat real food afterwards so I didn't get muscle spasms. Ouch! And he prescribed big horse pill painkillers that I couldn't swallow. My taste buds changed so everything tasted really weird and awful for a few weeks. It was just horrible. I'm glad for you that you're on the mend! šŸ™‚

  6. Wow! I can't imagine what it must be like to be sick like that! But congrats to you for getting through it and still having the motivation to work out. I really hope this is your last infection/illness! You'll be running that 5k in no time! šŸ™‚

    I've been wanting to try Jillian's yoga DVD. Some of my friends do it and really like, too.

  7. ooooh i want that dvd!!!! Jill is my workout buddy! I am doing 30 day shred on day's i'm not too super sore!

    I'm glad you're feelling better! i am so happy for you! mwah!

  8. Christine says:

    Hey Jenn, you are the first person to comment since I set up reply notification. Testing, testing, 1, 2, 3… xo

  9. Christine says:

    Yoga Booty ballet! Sounds amazing, I am going to have to check that out.

  10. Christine says:

    Yeah, isn't it awesome when consuming the pain medicine hurts worse than the actual pain itself??? šŸ˜›

  11. Christine says:

    Sounds very familiar… šŸ™‚

  12. First off; thank you so much for your comment on my blog. It made me feel a bit better (…unless, of course, the drunken piggy back ride thing wasn't a joke šŸ˜› ) and also – HI! hehe.
    Glad to read that you woke up feeling so great. I love the feeling of a good workout, too, and lately have been LOVING yoga. Sure, maybe it's not running a marathon, but we all have things that work for us, right?! I have been looking for new yoga videos to keep me entertained and I'm thinking I might like the yoga meltdown one. I don't consider myself a purist and much prefer the fast-paced ones that incorporate a bit more cardio. And that make me think “oh my word, I'm doing yoga, and yet I feel like I'm gonna die. In a good way.” šŸ˜› I'll have to check it out!!

  13. Christine says:

    Hi Jess! Leave it to me to show up for the first time at a blog and stir the pot. Haha!

  14. I can't imagine being sick all the time. I like to work out too and whenever I have the slightest cold I have no desire to exercise. It is a great feeling though once you get back to it! I'm interested in the yoga DVD you posted, I like doing toning DVD's at home too. And I love American Idol this season, there are so many talented singers! Thanks for visiting my blog, I'll be sure to be back! šŸ™‚

  15. I love how persistant you are! It's awesome.

    And I really dislike yoga. But the Jillian yoga, I tolerate. Probably because she does make it a little more cardio-based. I'm a total cardio junkie…

  16. LauraJayne says:

    I'm so glad you're starting to feel healthy – wanting to workout is the best feeling in the whole world (or at least one of them)! I love yoga, I just can't make it a routine part of my life – I just read another article about how good hot yoga is for runners, so I know I need to integrate it – it's just about finding the time now!

  17. it works!!!! =) though i cannot reply to the email, i have to come here to do it. no biggie – you're worth the extra effort =)

  18. I'm glad you're feeling better! I want to try that DVD when I finish the Shred. 3 days down, 27 to go- ugh!

  19. I have a “Yoga for Beginners” DVD that I love. It's not an intense work-out but provides a great at-home stretch. I love to do the 10 minute backbends session after a long day at my office!

  20. Bonnie says:

    I.Love.Yoga.
    Period.
    I wish I had more time to devote to it, but I really enjoy it when I get the chance. Otherwise, I focus more on weightlifting, cardio, and ab work.
    I'm kind of a gym rat …

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  21. Christine says:

    I'm going to have to do some yoga stretching today. OMG I am *so sore* from Jillian kicking my butt the last two mornings!!!

  22. I just scrolled down as I was reading and the sentence “My babies love to steal my iron” caught my eye and made me think whaaaaat?!? šŸ™‚
    Sounds like a real nightmare; fingers crossed it is all over x
    Thank you for the comment on my blog!

  23. Hannah says:

    This post hits so close to home for me. After spending 18 months unable to do anything but walk slowly because of chronic toe issues and surgeries, I'm still scared to do anything strenuous unless it all starts up again. I've been considering getting some DVDs like this, but have no idea whwere to start!

  24. I'm so happy it's over now! I've been through years of chronic illness and severe exhaustion myself (and yes, I know not being able to get up and going into the kitchen for getting something to eat! šŸ˜Æ ), so I think I can imagine which huge weight has fallen from your shoulders now. Have a good start into a new, happier life, my friend! šŸ˜€

    As for your questions: I don't watch American Idol. (I watch Germany's Next Topmodel – and I can't wait to go on with Kare Kano!!! :D) I have to get back to my daily yoga routine which consisted of the Surya Namaskara directly after getting up. And I don't have any workout DVDs. I want to get into running, though – all these things as soon as I'm back to Heidelberg, so it's just a couple of days until then. šŸ™‚

  25. Christine says:

    I can see how that would sound dangerous out of context!!

  26. Christine says:

    Exactly, Hannah. Eighteen months, wow. I knew you had an ouchy toe (I had to go back and find out who the pilot was) but had no idea it had that much history. šŸ˜¦

  27. Christine says:

    You look like a runner, tall and thin. I bet you'll be great at it! (and a little Kare Kano is enough to bring a smile to my face any day) šŸ˜€

  28. I have only watched one episode of AI this season. I usually watch it when they first call out the top males and females and then again as it gets closer to a winner.

    Hope you are still feeling better!!!

  29. […] Merf In Progress Just trying to be the best I can be. Skip to content HomeAbout MerfBooks to ReadRecipes ā† Can It Really Be Over? […]

  30. Priyanka says:

    I feel for you girl, it's easy for a kid to get the tonsillectomy done but not for an adult. Just hang in there. Yoga will help you glide through the recovery period. I am a yoga girl on alternate days when I am not running. I mostly do the videos that are available o demand on our comcast menu!

Leave a Reply

