Q1 2011 Performance Review

I’m a businesswoman, and in business we set goals and hold ourselves accountable with quarterly performance reviews. This blog helps me to do the same thing with the rest of my life. So, as we wrap up quarter 1, here is my performance review. (Now, where’s my raise?)

In January, I made one single lonely New Year’s Resolution. I committed to feeding my family wholesome, real, fresh food. Along the way, I added in some short-term goals. I’ve compiled them all here and given myself a grade for each.

Goal #1: Feed my family wholesome, real, fresh food.

Grade: B
There has been a LOT of improvement but there is still room for progress. I started out with tremendous energy and determination — weekly menus and no chicken nuggets. As the weeks rolled on, I found I was focusing more attention on my own food, and the chicken nuggets crept back onto my son’s plate. I still felt pretty confident about things because I am setting an example.

More fish and vegetarian meals.

Rediscovered quinoa.

Delicious oats.

Beautiful salads.My Salad

Let’s not forget the green monsters!

Tofu can be yummy.

The pumpkin bandwagon.

Boca burgers, nom.

Goal #2: Treat myself like I treat my kids.

Grade: C
I haven’t been getting to bed at 10:00. But I’m also not sure that’s practical. Moving forward I’m going to aim for 10:30. That gives me time to “do stuff” until 10, then get upstairs to bed. But aside from that, I’ve not been super great about restricting junk food or computer/TV time either. Definitely need to put more focus on this one.

Goal #3: Recover completely from strep throat.

Grade: A+
Had my tonsils removed. What more could I do?  😀

Goal #4: Continue “couch to 5k” program on pace

Grade: B+
I wasn’t able to do the program while I was sick and while I was recovering from surgery. I’m not going to fault myself for that. Now that I’m fully recovered, I’ve picked it back up, but I’m not quite on pace. I need to run at least one more time per week.

Goal #5: Go through “Project Home” photos

Grade: A
I went through all the photos and identified the work we need to do on the house.

Goal #6: Try some of the recipes on my recipes page.

Grade: A+
I ticked off the following recipes from my list. (Note: These are the recipes I tried and really liked. I am not including ones I tried and don’t plan to make again.)

Easy Salt & Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas (via Oh She Glows)

Edamame, Mushroom, and Kale Soup (via Fitting It All In)

Green Monster (via Oh She Glows

Mushroom Kale Quinoa Risotto (via Dairy Free Betty) – yes, I added a hot dog, don’t be a hater!

Perfect Baked Tofu (via Healthy Tipping Point)

Pumpkin Quinoa Muffins (via Carrots ‘n’ Cake)

Simple Sesame Noodles (The Pioneer Woman)

Single-Serving Coconut-Chocolate-Chip Cookie (via Baking ‘n’ Books)

Overall, I am pretty happy with how I did on my goals. I need to give some thought to April goals now!

What are your goals for this month? Inspire me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Q1 2011 Performance Review

  1. Cherry Lane says:

    Nice work! I admire your determination.

    Meanwhile, I want to know more about “Project Home”! Have you posted about that yet?

    • Christine says:

      I haven’t! Maybe I should? It’s basically me trying to clean up the house a bit. I took pictures of things that need to be better organized, better decorated, etc.

  2. I think you did great on your goals!! Hm..if you’re a reader, you can set some type of reading goal for April?

    • Christine says:

      That’s a great suggestion, and I really need to do that. I’ve been 85% of the way through Treasure Island for a month now.

  3. Wow looks like you had a good month after getting over being sick… with lots of good food! Here’s to a GREAT April!

  4. Ahh – love this post!! Your pics are awesome! So bright and vivid. Yeah the cookie may not look perfect – but it tastes just fiiiiiiine 🙂

    You did awesome with your goals. Goals? April? I have no concept of time and didn’t even realize. Oh Dear Lord.

    …and now – I must do something with pumpkin clearly…

    • Christine says:

      Thank you so much! I wish I could take a more attractive photo of the cookie. I’ve tried! But man they taste good.

  5. So many tasty food pictures in the post. Now I’m hungry! 🙂

  6. You did awesome on your goals! Seeing those chickpeas reminded me that I went to the grocery store specifically to get some today and totally forgot. My memory sucks!

  7. Hannah says:

    Honestly, looking at the meals you’ve created this month, I think you should be giving yourself one massive, massive pat on the back for creating such delicious, wholesome foods. And equally honestly, I’m a complete supporter of blending the wholesome good foods with regular treats and the occassional rough-n-ready-chicken-nuggety meals. Because sometimes life gets in the way, and sometimes it’s more important to spend time with the people you love, than get caught up in making sure every meal has x amount of vegetables, for example. Wow, I’m totally rambling right now. Anyway, just wanted to say that I think you’ve done magnificently with all your goals. And I’m in awe of anyone getting to bed even by 10:30pm…

  8. Yay, great results! Now just be a little kinder to yourself, you’ve done so amazingly well in all other regards! 😀

    My goal for this month is to finally, finally establish a somewhat regular exercize regimen. Oh, and get my thesis study running. (Gah.)

Leave a Reply

