Five Weeks, Three Inches

So you know what, I haven’t felt like blogging the last few days. Obviously. Easter weekend was busy and wonderful. Then last night I was crazy tired and went to bed at about 9. Tonight, I almost did the same thing, but I had to revive myself in order to watch “The Voice.” I’m watching it right now and totally digging it. Did you watch it? If I were on that show (yah right) and all four of the coaches turned around (YAH RIGHT), I don’t know who I’d pick. Probably either Adam Levine or Blake Shelton, since I sing bluesy-country. I’m not a power singer, so I don’t think Christina would be a fit for me. And Cee Lo Green, I don’t know, he wears his sunglasses at night.

[source]

On to more important matters… The Royal Wedding. Will you be watching it? Do you care? And why did I capitalize it like it was the name of a movie or something? Personally, I couldn’t give a monkey’s behind about The Royal Wedding, but I am curious about something. Does Prince William have a last name???

Anywayyy…

…enough with the chit-chat. Something is really bothering me, and I need to get it off my chest. More accurately, I need to get it off my hips, ass, and waist. Are you with me? You know what I’m talking about… Pregnancy weight, baby. My precious little K-Dub turns 8 months old on Sunday, and it’s high time for me to say goodbye to my …

[source]

LOVE HANDLES!

I’m not even kidding, y’all, I have some serious love handles. I like to tell myself it’s because my abdomen was recently stretched to the size of a Cadillac, and it’s just extra skin. But I know that’s not really true. When I was pregnant, I never turned down a bowl of ice cream. And to be honest, I haven’t turned one down since then either. So, that’s at least a year of unrestricted desserts I’ve been packing on — not to mention generous portion sizes.

[source]

I’m going to Vegas in early June, so that’s my target date. My goal is to trim down my waistline so I fit into my pre-pregnancy pants. I have five weeks. I’d like to lose 3″ on my waist and hips. I need a plan. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  • Eat more often, fill up on healthy snacks like nuts, fruit, raw veggies, etc.
  • Cut back on portions, especially when eating out.
  • Do cardio at least 3x a week.
  • Do ab exercises every day (is that too much? LOVE HANDLES, people!)

Do you have any other suggestions for me?

Is 3″ too much to expect in five weeks?

What can I eat after dinner that will satisfy my NEED for dessert?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Five Weeks, Three Inches

  1. You can do it!!! And I would say you don't need abs every day. I would maybe focus on adding in one high intensity cardio (shorter but harder) than trying to fit in all those ab workouts. 🙂

  2. I hear you on the blogging thing… I *try* to blog much more often than I do, but then… eh… life happens. I could NEVER been one of those 3x/day bloggers. Never.

    Prince William's last name is Mountbatten-Windsor. (It's kind of made-up and not often used). I'm a die-hard Anglophile, and have my DVR set to tape 11 hours of wedding coverage on Friday, on BBC America. My Mom and I watched Princess Diana's wedding in '81; and when I was 16 I saw Diana in person, in London. I have always loved all things royal family, London, etc. Hence the 2 years I spent living over there in my 20's! 🙂
    So yes, I will do my darnest to catch some of the coverage during the workday on Friday; and will definitely cozy up on my couch this weekend with my DVR to see it ALL. 🙂

    ~

  3. becca says:

    You can do this!!!

    Drink tons of water, eat yo veggies, enjoy fruits and balance your meals!

    And abs? 2-3 times a week is PLENTY! 🙂

  4. ToddFromVA says:

    Before you start on a program of crunches, spend some time Googling the phrase “The myth of spot reducing”.

    Some experts say that the best way to lose fat is to build muscle all over your body; you won't necessarily weigh less, but you'll be leaner overall.

    Good luck.

  5. I don't watch much TV and I never really got into American Idol so I don't know about The Voice but I am soooooo with you about the royal wedding. As a matter of fact, I can't WAIT for it to be over! Did you know they are making BARF BAGS with the royal wedding theme?! I mean seriously! If I were Kate I would just elope, that's way too much over-the-top for me personally….

  6. Kelsey says:

    yeah, I'm with you on the Royal wedding: so ready for it to be over. I really don't care. My boyfriend's from London actually and he's amazed at how obsessed we are over here hah!

    I think your plan sounds like a great one! I will add one thing: if you have a bad day or cheat, don't let that derail you! Give yourself some wiggle room and you will be much happier and more likely to succeed 🙂

    So fun you're going to Vegas!!

  7. You have a goal and that is totally the BEST motivator ever! <3 a trip and a timeframe are wonderful wonderful things! =) You can totally do this!

    One thing i've learned though is that more frequent snaking and meals, while always suggested by RD's, can be a calorie trap! I would do a three day food diary to analyze your new routine just to get a peek at where your calories are coming from and what foods are benefiting you and which can possibly be subbed for something else. I gained a ton of weight when switching from 3 meals to 6 small ones and always try to tell everyone starting a new lifestyle change about the adverse effects that happened to me! I was obv. choosing too many high calorie snacks to frequently… almonds and raisins are healthy… but the mini portions i was eating all day added up so fast and furiously! I was shocked! So thats my boring 2 cents. I'm here with a giant “YOU'VE GOT THIS” sign and 100% certainty that you can reach your goals <3 Love you!!!!!!!

    xoxo

  8. Good luck to you!!! I NEED dessert every night too :). Knowing that, I usually don't eat anything sweet during the day so there's some wiggle room to enjoy a treat at night. I find that if you use a smaller dish, just a little bit of ice cream goes a long way!

  9. LauraJayne says:

    My favorite after-dinner, bedtime snack is cheese and crackers! I plan to stock up at Trader Joe's this weekend on their crackers, and I like the Laughing Cow light wedges – they are perfect with a serving of crackers!

    Oh, and I've heard so many conflicting things about ab workouts – and I'm definitely not an authority, but from what I understand, we can work our core everyday – in things like yoga, pilates, etc. However, if we are doing strength exercises that target specific abdominal muscles, it is not a good idea to do that every day (like it wouldn't be a good idea to train triceps everyday).

  10. Katherine: Unemployed says:

    Great way to set goals based on feeling healthy and having a smaller waist (as long as it is realistic- not too tiny!) rather than weight.

    I'm glad the royal wedding is coming up! I just want it to be over because there has been way TOO much coverage on it. It's great they are getting married but I feed bad for the couple living under such a magnifying glass

  11. I was totally wondering about the last name too!! My only other tips would be to eat filling breakfasts. Also, for healthy desserts, I usually have a handful of trail mix (M&Ms!), Greek yogurt with honey or some fruit.

  12. good challenge for yourself – you can do it! i like posting my goals on my blog too – if i tell the world (or my handful of readers!), then i'm more likely to get it done!!!

  13. Shanna says:

    I have no interest in the royal wedding either 😉

    Do tons of planks and side planks and pikes with a stability ball. Good luck!

  14. Allie says:

    Yeah I'm pretty excited about The Royal Wedding (capitalized like a movie hahaha)
    I know you can lose the weight if you put your mind to it 🙂 You get to go to Vegas in June?! LUCKY!!

  15. Good luck with your goal! Here are some of my favorite “desserts” –
    Yogurt sweetened with stevia, eaten with berries
    apple with peanut flour sauce
    fresh fruit topped with a little granola
    Luna bar

  16. lindsay says:

    I totally think you can do it! Lots of fresh foods, a great workout routine (wish sounds doable), and the right attitude. Thats it!
    P.S.
    Now I am really curious about Prince Williams last name. haha.

  17. Good plan! I think that might work! 🙂 It might also help to rather reduce carbs than fat, but that's not for everyone, so you may have to find out. I usually find myself more satisfied with fewer carbs in my diet (*not* zero or very low carb, though, that makes me hungry again).

    I like a big mug of Chai tea with almond milk or cream (or whatever works for you) for “dessert”.

  18. I know at least Harry goes by “Wales” in terms of what's on his uniform… So, Angie: do you know why?

    They're our royal family in Canada, too, and I know a bunch of people getting up at 3am to watch it live. Ceremony is nice, but I'm not moved… even if we *did* grow up with a coffee table book about the royals! 🙂

  19. Three inches is relative, isn't it? Lots when there's not lots to lose, not lots when there's lots to lose… but if the pursuit of the goal gets you on the road to something you want anyway, then maybe meeting it EXACTLY on target matters less? 🙂

  20. Priyanka says:

    You can totally get off those love handles lady, you have a great plan in place. I have the same problem right now and I cannot even say that I have any reason to explain their existence.

    P.S- Prince William's last name is Mountbatten-Windsor (wikipedia)

  21. Christine says:

    Thank you, Tina. You know I really value your insight, since you're going through the exact same thing as I am. Thanks for your support!

  22. Christine says:

    Thanks, Becca. I really value your insight considering your experience and background. Do you have any fitness plans on your blog? I'd love to take a look at some of the things you do.

  23. Christine says:

    You're so cute. I wasn't sure there were actual real people that cared. I see that there are!!!

  24. Christine says:

    I did see that about the barf bags. That killz. Kate probably loves it. (<- the pomp and circumstance, not the barf bags!)

  25. Christine says:

    Great point, Todd, thanks. I think I'm going to modify the plan to 2-3 days ab work, 4 days circuit work and 1 day pure cardio.

  26. Christine says:

    Great advice, Kelsey, thanks. I need to remember that, not to beat myself up.

    I think the Londoners are pretty whack about this wedding, too, but the whole concept of the royal family is more familiar to them. For us, royalty is more of a joke.

  27. Christine says:

    I totally just threw back a glass of wine. I need to find the love for tea or something!

  28. Christine says:

    That's so true, Jenn. I need to remember to calorie count a bit. Not something I'm good at, ugh.

  29. Christine says:

    Thanks for the snack suggestion. I have to find something that will satisfy my sweet tooth at night!

    As for ab work, yeah I guess there are a lot of conflicting theories. I guess focusing on abs 3x a week would be okay, so I don't overdo it.

  30. Christine says:

    I hope it's not too tiny, since I'm just trying to get back into my regular jeans! But yeah, my weight is fine. I am fine with what I weigh, but I want to look firmer. Bring on the muscle mass!!!

  31. Christine says:

    Thanks, Sarah! Accountability is one facet, absolutely. But also the advice and support of this community. Man, it's so motivating and encouraging!

  32. Christine says:

    yogurt, good call, thanks doll! A filling breakfast is a great idea. Get that metabolism pumping!

  33. I'm the same way with dessert – I HAVE to eat something sweet after dinner or my meal doesn't feel complete. I usually go with some soft of blender “ice cream” using frozen fruit, extracts, almond or coconut milk….I'm not a personal trainer or anything even close to it, but I don't think you need to do abs everyday. I would do abs 3-4 days a week, and throw in some strength training into your workout mix. Muscle burns fat!! And when you do your abs, include planks, mountain climbers, and Pilates style moves to the traditional crunches. Crunches are great, but they don't target the whole torso area – Pilates abs will hit everything!! 🙂 You can do it!!

  34. Christine says:

    I usually just do crunches, but I think you're right, I need to incorporate planks. They are so hard!!!

  35. Christine says:

    Thanks, Clare. I'm stalking your blog for recipe ideas right now. Post food, lots of food!!!

  36. Christine says:

    Thanks, Allie, your support means a lot, truly. And yeah, Vegas in June. The pools are going to be INSANE!!!

  37. Christine says:

    I don't really plan to reduce anything — carbs, fat, etc. Just really to have a balanced diet, and make sure I eat tons of fresh fruits and veggies and “real food”. As long as I do that, I feel like my body is getting the fuel it needs.

    LOVE the idea of Chai with almond milk, thanks! Do you use a powdered chai?

  38. Christine says:

    Evidently his last name is “Mountbatten-Windsor”, hahahha!!!

    So you're saying the baked ziti I had for dinner is not doing wonders for my waistline? 🙂

  39. Christine says:

    Relative, indeed. I've never measured my waistline or tried to lose inches before, so I truly have no clue. All I know is when I look at the waist measurement of my former size, and I look at what I'm at now, I think losing 3″ would do the trick. My goal is really to get into my old jeans! 😀

  40. Christine says:

    Well, ice cream is the real cause of mine. Pregnancy is somewhat of an excuse really. 🙂

    that's so funny about Wikipedia. I swear, I looked there, but I got so bored that I couldn't read the whole page!

  41. Christine says:

    Thanks so much. This is exactly the advice that I need! So true about the strength training. GREAT advice, and thanks so much for the support xoxoxo

  42. No, I use “real” Chai. (Powdered things are usually sugar-based.) So, it's either a readily bought Yogi tea or home-made.

  43. You have a great plan laid out, which means you'll totally rock it!

    I say do ab exercises as often as you want. But I wouldn't spend a ton of time on it. Do more harder exercises (plank, stability ball stuff) and fewer crunches. I find that crunches are some of the least effect ab exercises, but that's just me.

    My only other tip is strength training! It will do wonders for your metabolism and keep you burning calories longer than cardio alone.

  44. Leila says:

    Go Christine! Go Christine! Go Christine!

    Stay Positive, think thin and go go go!

    Leila

  45. That's such a good goal! I'm sharing it with you—but mine isn't baby weight, it's “I work too much, sleep too little, and have abandoned all my good, old habits” weight. And then, sometimes, my super-stress has made me lose weight and I've fit the old jeans again, but I find that when I'm just smaller and not fitter (like I used to be), I don't really like the way they look… Maybe size isn't the best indicator… on me, anyway! What about going by body fat percentage?

  46. […] to Level 1, which was still challenging!  This is going to be so awesome. I may actually lose three inches in five weeks! Digg this post Recommend on Facebook Share with Stumblers Tweet about it Subscribe to the […]

  47. Missy says:

    I love that show, too. LOVE it.

    Um…tips from me? Gosh. Don't ask. Well..Ok. Chew your food. Really, chew. Like Drink it, chew. It makes it more easy to digest and it is the way we were made .. read up on marobiotics. I have no idea how this would be possible whilst dining with children, though.
    But CHEW! I wanna write about this soon (hater comments be darned).
    Your plan sounds good to me. Unfortunately you can't spot reduce but even if you lose only a little I bet if you follow your plan you will feel amazing in Vegas even if you wear Summer Dresses the entire time.

  48. […] Five Weeks, Three Inches […]

Leave a Reply

