Identifying Food Sensitivities

Good evening! Operation “Five Weeks, Three Inches” is going okay. I give myself a “C” so far. I’ve done a few of the circuit workouts from my personal trainer, and they are Teh Awesome. My problem is actually doing them. If I don’t work out first thing in the morning, I feel like something always comes up. I just need to really try to get up first thing to exercise, and if that doesn’t happen, to make it happen during my lunch break. But the real kicker is that I slipped on the stairs yesterday and landed on my tail bone, and it HURTS like the dickens. It hurts to bend over and pick something up, and I can’t even imagine trying to do crunches or planks right now. So instead of circuits tomorrow, I will probably just go for a walk. I’m not messing around with my back, you know?

In other news, I am beginning to suspect that my expanded waistline may be due to something other than (or rather, something in addition to) fat. If you follow me on Twitter, you may have seen this little gem:

Seriously, people. Out. Of. Control. Bloating. If you’ve ever been pregnant, you know all about bloating. Bloating is why women sometimes blissfully (or sorrowfully) declare “I was showing in my seventh week!” No, honey, your baby is the size of a poppy seed. You are bloated. Having been pregnant twice, I know all about bloating. I think we all experience it from time to time, especially after eating too much. But I’ve been experiencing it 24×7 for about a month now, and it’s getting miserable. I need to figure out what’s causing this and put an end to it!

Anyway, it looks like I need to do some food elimination and reintroduction to try to identify the culprit(s). I’m thinking dairy, wheat, and/or alcohol. Any advice for me? Should I try to cut out all three at once, or is one the most likely cause? I was thinking of cutting out dairy and alcohol and seeing if there’s any noticeable improvement. I can envision a life without dairy. I can hardly fathom a life without wheat.

Tons of other things I want to write about (um, Osama Bin Laden?) but they will have to wait. It’s 11 PM, and it’s time for me to say goodnight. In the morning, I’ll try to catch up on my Google Reader a bit before work and see what you’re all up to!

If you have experience identifying a food sensitivity,
I’d very much appreciate your advice!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Identifying Food Sensitivities

  1. Sorry about all that bloating. I find that certain cheeses do that to me…mainly mozzarella. Also, if I have too much fiber, I tend to get bloated also…too many veggies, a fiber bar, etc. Hope it goes away soon and you find out what the culprit is!

  2. Fruit makes me really bloated! Actually, a lot of things do. I also retain water, so my hands, feet, and face are perpetually swollen!

  3. I have a problem with fish. When it first happened, I was eating it twice a day (my fave protein!) and I already had a shellfish intolerance (think: the Exorcist). I had INSANE skin problems, and my doctor said “I think it’s diet”. So he identified the major offenders—wheat, eggs, nuts, fish, SUGAR—and I was told to take them out one at a time for 10 days each. Removing something for too little time, you might not give it enough time to get out of your system. And if you do more than one at a time, you won’t know what the prob really *was*. Now, in truth, I know sugar is toxic for me, but we had me start with fish because of the shellfish issue, and sadly (because I love it), that was it. An easy problem to solve—except in terms of me figuring out what the heck to eat. 🙂

    I can’t help wishing the bin Laden thing had happened 10 years ago. Al Qaeda’s not over yet, and I think the fact that Pakistan was all but harbouring him is a bit of a sitch-in-development…

    Happy May!

    • Christine says:

      If I eliminated multiple things at once, my thought was I’d reintroduce them one at a time, to identify which was the culprit. The positive of that is that you feel better faster. The negative is it’s hard to give up so many things at once! I don’t think I have that kind of will power.

  4. Allie says:

    Aww, be careful with your back!! Tailbones are not fun when they get hurt/bruised.
    I hope the bloating goes away!!!

  5. Kelsey says:

    Sorry about the bloating!! I think you’re right on–cutting out those foods is the way to test it. And perhaps try to keep a food diary! Not everything you eat, but every time you experience bloating, write down what you’ve had that day. You may start to notice a pattern. I did that when I was trying to determine what was causing my allergic reactions (turned out to be soy milk).

    Good luck 🙂

  6. Hannah says:

    Hmm, I’m not quite sure what advice to give, as my mum and grandma have a billion allergies that only got properly diagnosed with doctor assistance. That said, I self-worked-out my lactose intolerance, so I can see the value of both ways! Good luck!

  7. becca says:

    Ugh. dont get me started on bloating!!! I think your best bet is to eliminaet one thing at a time! That way you’ll know what hte issue is. 🙂

  8. Rach says:

    Oh dear, sorry about the bloating! I definitely have been there – I just recently discovered dairy to be the culprit and have been SO much happier since I cut it out of my diet and no longer get the awkward look and “how far along are you?” questions, haha!

    • Christine says:

      I hope it’s dairy for me, too. I can realistically survive without dairy. You’re Italian, though. Love to know how you pull that off. Hah!

  9. lindsay says:

    LOL you crack me up with the bloating. Is it wheat or gluten? that tends to cause a lot fo bloat!

    • Christine says:

      Fo sho. Yeah, I realllyyy hope it’s not wheat/gluten. If it turns out to be, I will cry on your shoulder.

  10. I saw that tweet! Oh no. I hate to say, but I don’t really get a lot of bloating… (knock-on-wood).

    Ashley (Edible Perspective) did a huge elimination diet a couple of months ago – she has some really great posts that you should check out if you haven’t seen them already.

    I can’t imagine life without dairy OR wheat. My ‘almost MIL’ has celiac, so I have learned a lot about that in the past couple of years… and it would be *rough* for me.
    Here’s hoping your issues are something easily solved! 🙂

    ~

  11. I am an expert of bloating. I’ve made a bloating ABC once. (I need to post that soon.)

    I’ve been bloated for all my life, every single day. As a child already, as an adolescent, and during the first years of my studies. It was so bad that I actually looked pregnant (I wasn’t) – you know, when your belly is so big that your t-shirt settles down on it.

    With me, it was dairy. Lactose, to be precise. (I also have casein intolerance but that causes throat swelling, not bloating.) So, if you don’t want to eliminate dairy completely, it may already help to try lactose-free dairy products for a while. There are also lactase drops you can take directly before eating dairy. It’s good to have a package of those in your handbag if you’re lactose-intolerant, just in case.

  12. I have the same issues with bloating!!!! But I think it has to do with high fiber foods since I eat a lot of it (beans, broccoli, asparagus, apples) and I guess I am going to try using beano before I eat them because I don’t want to elimate such healthy food that I enjoy, you know?!!

  13. Missy says:

    If your bloat feels like a hard balloon might I suggest beano?
    I get bad gas, and when I tell people I always clarify “not the farty kind…if I was farting there’d be no problem” It gets trapped! Ow.

    Also try eating slow and relaxed and chewing…chew chew train.

Leave a Reply

