I Look Awful When I Run (and WIAW!)

Last week, I went for a walk. It was 2 PM, sunny, and over 80 degrees outside, so running didn’t seem like a great idea. But of course, a couple of blocks down the road, I realized I wanted to run. So I ran. Then I was tired so I walked. This back-and-forth went on for two miles with an average pace of about 14:30. After doing a two-mile loop, I was feeling great and decided to do the loop again. At the end of mile three, I was exhausted, and I easily could have headed back home. But, I had told myself I was doing four miles, and I was determined. Check out my splits:

Hahahaha!!! Think I ran out of steam in mile 4? I practically crawled home. As I walked up the driveway, my husband saw me through the window, and his face looked… concerned. I paced around the house for a few minutes trying to cool down. As I walked by the bathroom, I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror, and suddenly it was clear why my husband had given me such a shocked look. This is what I saw in the mirror:

All of the blood in my body was in my face. The picture really doesn’t do justice to how red my face was, especially in stark contrast to my deathly pale body. Now I know why when I jog by people, rather than give me bright, friendly smiles, they look at me sideways and cross to the other side of the street.

I have a million other things to write about, but you know what day it is! It’s Wednesday, and I have two more hours to get my What I Ate Wednesday post up!  If you want to join in on the action, just click the button.

And as always, I will share with you whatever food photos I took during the last week, because you really don’t want to see everything I ate in an entire day. Trust me, you don’t. Unless you like photos of Oreos. Hmm, come to think of it, I do.

On Friday, I had girls night (!!!!) with friends at one of my favorite restaurants, and being the creature of habit that I am, I ordered the same thing I always get… crab cakes with the veggie of the day and sweet potato fries. My meal was tasteogenic, but apparently not photogenic.

On Monday, I finished up the last of my Mama Pea-inspired broiled tofu by putting it on a sandwich thin with spinach and red bell pepper. Yum!

Yesterday, I made a Caitlin-inspired omelette for breakfast and served it up with a side of blackberries.

One teeny bit of goat cheese peeking out!

It tasted sort of boring and I was out of salsa. I like the idea of omelettes, but how do you make them more interesting tasting? Oh I know, BACON.

This morning’s breakfast made me so so so so inexplicably happy. I was trying to find something dairy-free (and almond milk does not taste awesome with my frosted mini wheats, booo). So I had a sandwich thin with Peanut Butter & Co dark chocolate peanut butter and a sliced banana, served with fresh blackberries and blueberries. OMG.

And since I have your attendtion, I want to share with you a picture of my baby girl, Trinity, trying to keep the bright light out of her eyes as she naps.

Oh wait, before you go! Are you curious about kombucha? Or already a fan? Come back tomorrow for a guest post on kombucha by the awesome and inspiring Lindsay from Cotter Crunch!  There may or may not be a giveaway to go along with it. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I Look Awful When I Run (and WIAW!)

  1. Grace says:

    I look pretty similar when I am done running so no judging here! I like your tastogenic comment:) Although I think it looks good, too!

  2. Allison says:

    Omg we are one in the same when it comes to post workout red face. My face is outta control!!! I used to think maybe I held my breath when I worked out but not the case. I think it's genetic bc my little sis looks the same as I do – RED!

  3. Christine says:

    Hmm, maybe it's our hummingbird-speed heart rates!

  4. Those are some yummy WIAW! I haven't' had crab cakes in forever, now I'm craving 🙂 Loving the sweet tatter fries, they look so crispy!

  5. lindsay says:

    you should see my face when i run…..in TX…..in the heat….and humidity. It ain't pretty but its work, right christine?

    Love the eats!

  6. Allie says:

    I LOVE all of your eats and I'm sorry about the red face! Ahh! That happened to me last week.. not fun!

  7. Your omelet and breakfast sandwich with banana looks delicious! I get pretty red after a run too, but what's even worse is that I get super sweaty!!

  8. Hannah says:

    I reckon if anyone crosses the street when they see you running, it's not because of redness, but because you're running SO FAST they think they're getting out of the way for Super[wo]man!

    Love the breakfast! Oh, how I miss that peanut butter!

  9. I'm totally in love with your humor, and reading about your running face made me laugh so hard! 😀 Sorry about the omelette – it looks so pretty, but alas, pretty is not always tasty. 😉

  10. Rach says:

    Oh, I love sweet potato fries! Trinity is adorable!

    And hey, I just saw your tweet about dairy things. There have been lots of things that took me off guard when I realized that they had dairy in them, but you're probably going to laugh at me because they are all pretty obvious, haha! Ranch, butter, sugar free chocolate, and sour cream (I mean, really, duh Rach! haha!) have all caught me off guard. I just tend to think of dairy as milk and cheese and forget that it is in SO many other things. I nearly ate yogurt one day before I realized that it's dairy, haha! A great source is: http://www.thenondairyqueen.com/ I've learned a lot from her. So maybe ask her the same question and she can probably help you more! 🙂

  11. Priyanka says:

    Haha…running does that to all of us. I look horrendous after a run but feel great. So proud of you to complete that run in the afternoon, good job girl.

  12. If I THINK of exercising I turn red as a beet. I also have a magical blushing ability, which turns on whenever I think “it would look incriminating if I blushed right now…”

    I'm *so* stoked about the Kombucha post! I have no idea what it is, haven't bothered to google it (yet?!), and now… I can just read Lindsay on it! Wheeeee!

  13. becca says:

    Bacon makes EVERYTHING taste better. True story. lol

  14. Kelsey says:

    I turn way red too!! I take it as a sign of a good workout. 🙂

    And I LOVE dark chocolate dreams! I'm currently out and need to get a new tub asap!

  15. I totally agree about that breakfast – dark chocolate peanut butter makes anything wonderful! I also get SO red and sweaty when I work out. In a way though I feel like it's not a great workout if I don't look like that when I'm done, which is why I have trouble with yoga!

  16. omg i look worse!! trust me! I GET so rad and icky and yuck!! umm love that sammie thin with nanner!

  17. LauraJayne says:

    I always love it when I read in girl-y magazines about how we look hotter after we workout so not to worry about our post-gym appearance. Apparently they haven't met me. I look like death! Great job for getting out there!

  18. LauraJayne says:

    Oh, and I don't think you look awful at all. I, in contrast, usually look deathly pale. The curse of my Scandinavian heritage!

  19. Mmmmm I would kill for some blackberries tonight!!! They grew wild at my house growing up and now I hate to pay so much for them! It all looks delish!!!
    xoxo
    Cat@BudgetBlonde.com

  20. Missy says:

    I can out-red face you any day and I think you look gorgie.
    Your food an out-pretty my food every day of the week, too.

  21. Christine says:

    Love you and your red face!

  22. Wow your face definitely gets red! I think we should call it a healthy flush 😉 My face gets pretty scary. It's hard work!

Leave a Reply

