Weekend Recap + GIVEAWAY WINNER!

This weekend was completely amazing, and I hate to see it end. On Saturday morning I went to the gym. After my magic shoes and I went on an amazing twenty minute run on Friday, I knew I didn’t want to run again, so I checked out the group class schedule. It turns out there is a Zumba class at the gym on Saturday mornings. I hadn’t been to Zumba in about three years, so I was really excited. The class was amazing. The teacher is so cute and fun, her routines are great, and it was challenging. I’m going to have to make this class part of my Saturday routine from now on!

Later on Saturday, I took my sons for a mile walk. I carried my 9 month old in a baby carrier and pushed my 4 year old on his tricycle. Plus we walked a hilly route. It was quite a workout!

Saturday night, my parents came over to watch the boys, and my husband and I went out for date night. My parents had given us a gift certificate for a local Northern Italian restaurant called Fratelli’s, so we decided to go there. Afterwards, we headed to the movie theater to see “Win Win” with Paul Giamatti. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it. It gets 94% on Rotten Tomatoes!

Sunday morning, my little baby was baptized. It was so beautiful. He looked absolutely amazing in his baptism gown. It’s the gown that my grandmother sewed by hand, that both my brother and I wore. After a quick soak in Oxiclean, it looks good as new! My son was so cute during the baptism. He clapped, cooed, and flirted with the congregation. People kept coming up to me afterwards commenting on what a great disposition he has.

That afternoon, we went for a family walk around the neighborhood. Dad pushed the baby in the stroller and I pushed the kid on the tricycle. It was about 1.4 miles. It was sooo hot out, but great to go out for family fun and exercise!

Today was a blast. My son was so excited that it was a holiday (no school!) and he had grand plans for us. We were going to play on the computer, go to the gym, go to the pool, go to grandma and grandpa’s house, and about ten other things. First, we went to the gym, because I wanted to hit up Zumba again. Unfortunately, about twenty minutes into the class, I hurt my elbow somehow. I felt something sort of pop. Not a good feeling at all, and I actually couldn’t continue with the class. Fortunately I had my iPod, so I hopped on the treadmill for week 6, day 1 of Couch to 5k. Today’s run was easy — run 5, walk 3, run 8, walk 3, run 5. I never thought I’d say running 5 and 8 minutes would be easy, but there you go!

After the gym, we had a quick lunch then headed straight to the pool. Our neighborhood pool is $600+ to join for the summer, but they let everyone in the neighborhood in for free the first weekend of the season. We took advantage of the free weekend today since we have no intention of joining! (Two sets of local grandparents with pools that cost us nothing FTW!) J-Man and I got to the pool about noon and left about 4. We swam the ENTIRE TIME. He loved going down the slide and has absolutely no problem putting his head under the water. Now I need to teach him to swim. Somehow. I have no idea how to do that. Hmm. Dad brought the baby to the pool for a couple of hours, and I cannot tell you how cute he looked in his little swim trunks, rash guard, and sunglasses. I wish I could share pics with you. You might melt.

So here it is, almost eleven and time for bed. Lindsay says we should remember sometimes to reflect on our blessings, so here I go. What a weekend. I feel so blessed right now, to have such a wonderful husband and such beautiful boys. The time we spent together this weekend is what life is all about. I can’t believe I am actually getting in shape. I never thought I would be able to run 8 minutes like it was nothing. It’s hard to believe that in February I was winded after 90 seconds. And the icing on the cake is that my husband and I are taking a grownups-only trip to Vegas this weekend, and I CANNOT WAIT!!!  I need to go bikini shopping this week. My “mom skirty tankini” just ain’t gonna cut it in Vegas.

And now before we go, the moment you’ve all been waiting for. The giveaway winner!!!

The winner of the awesome Sprout Wellness giveaway is Kristen @ Change of Pace! Congratulations, Kristen! Email me your address, and I will ask Adina @ Sprout to send you the loot.

This entry was posted in c25k, family, life. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Weekend Recap + GIVEAWAY WINNER!

  1. Christine says:

    I'm back! I'm back!

Leave a Reply

