Don’t Be Cruel 2: Pacific Shaving Company

Welcome to my second installment of “Don’t Be Cruel”, my series dedicated to helping you find personal care and beauty products that are not tested on animals. Today I’ll be talking about Pacific Shaving Company. I don’t know about you, but I have a tough time finding good shaving creams that are safe and natural.

Pacific Shaving is a really cool company, and I really wanted to try out their products after finding out my *cough, Aveeno, cough* other shaving cream was tested on animals. Pacific Shaving began in 2002 and their philosophy is to “create shaving products that are good for the skin, good for the wallet and good for the earth.tm” One of the biggest draws of these products is that a little goes a long way. This way, not only do you save money, but you use less packaging which is an environmental win. I should also mention that with every purchase, Pacific Shaving plants a tree.

I was thrilled when Pacific Shaving agreed to send me a sample pack of their products to try out. The package included the “All Natural Shaving Oil,” “Blade Oil,” “Nick Stick,” and “All Natural Shaving Cream.”

Although the products can be used by men or women, they are marketed more towards men and seem to be designed with face whiskers in mind. So, my husband agreed to help me review them.

First up, the “All Natural Shaving Oil.” This is a product I was pretty psyched to try, because the package is so little and portable (great for travel!). I liked this more than my husband did. He didn’t like using the shave oil on its own. With the recommended 8 drops, he kept nicking himself. He also felt that his (brand new) razor was pulling on his skin. He did feel that it worked better when he used more than the recommended 8 drops, or if he used it underneath his shaving cream. On my legs, I used 2-3 times the recommended amount (hey, 8 drops is for a dude’s face right?). No nicks, and I got a very close, smooth shave.

Next up, the “All Natural Shaving Cream.” My husband only used this a couple of times, but I used it quite a bit. I definitely liked it. It has a nice whipped texture. I got a very close shave and no nicks. My only wish on this product is that there was a shower-friendly tube option instead of the jar.

Next in line is the “Blade Oil.” I didn’t try this product, but my husband did, and he liked it. Applying blade oil to your dry razor blade after shaving is supposed to prevent corrosion of the blade, which causes nicks and cuts. It’s a great concept, and I support products designed to allow us to use disposable items longer. My husband gave this a thumbs up, and I’m going to start using it on my next blade!

Last up, the “Nick Stick.” When you do happen to nick yourself, just apply this clear roll-on liquid to the nick to stop bleeding almost instantly. This was my husband’s favorite product of the set. He said it was easier to use than a styptic pencil, and that it worked great to stop the bleeding.

Overall: I’m a fan. We’re going to keep using the Blade Oil and see if our blades seem to last longer. I will be purchasing the Nick Stick and the Shaving Oil (for travel) when I run out. I think the gift set would be great for a man’s birthday (or belated Father’s Day gift???).

Have you tried Pacific Shaving before? If not, do you plan to?

What are your favorite safe, natural, and cruelty-free shaving prodcuts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Don’t Be Cruel 2: Pacific Shaving Company

  1. Hannah says:

    Erm, is it bad that I just use normal soap to shave? 😛 It probably would be easier if I found a nice shaving cream…

  2. Allie says:

    Aveeno tests on animals???! Well, that’s what is sitting in my shower right now, so it’s time for me to go on a shaving-product quest of my own. I have a piece of a shaving soap bar that was a free sample from some soap purchase on Etsy–I’ll have to try that out and see how it goes.

  3. LauraJayne says:

    I love this post – I need to buy shaving cream, and it’s one of the last things that I’ve been able to transition from to find ones that are ethical and without crazy chemicals! I can’t wait to try them!

  4. Wow. “Shaving creams” you say?

    I use soap. And right now, I’m using shampoo because I’m trying to use it up. But if I were all fancy-like, I might be way excited about this! For now, however, I’m just googling “blade oil” to smarten myself up. 😀

  5. oh my heavens those look wonderful! I haven’t tried their stuff but would love to! 🙂

  6. Missy says:

    I use shaveing cream even less often than I actually shave! Hahaha, but they look like a legit company. I love Burts Bees. It’s so cool how huge they have become without compromise. Also Body Shop and Aveda.
    WAIT! I just did a google search and it seems like some of these bigger companies are not 100% cruelty free? Huh?
    Perhaps this may be cause for your next installment.

  7. Sophia Lee says:

    I don’t shave…I’m hairless! Strange but it’s from my daddy’s genes…we’re just naturally hairless people.

  8. I love this series. You are so thoughtful!

    Myself, I don’t use shaving cream, and I don’t even know if I could get that brand over here. I’m getting more aware of which kinds of cleaning agents I buy, though, and often pick an organic brand that isn’t tested on animals.

  9. Wow, I use Aveeno and I had NO idea they tested on animals!! Man, I’m very upset!! I will have to try this stuff!

  10. Allie says:

    I like your Don’t Be Cruel posts.. i seriously learn SO much!

  11. Kelly says:

    I need to find a shaving cream for my lady area…if you know what I mean! Especially now that it is summer!!

  12. I haven’t heard of that brand, but the oil sounds lovely.

  13. Pingback: Buy A Shaving Cream

  14. Great series of posts, thanks! I’ve never tried Pacific Shaving Company products, but I want to now.

Leave a Reply

