Serendipity Smoothie (and my Blog’s Purpose)

Hey peeps. A couple of pieces of administrivia before we get started. Yes, I said administrivia. Can you tell I am a businesswoman?

First, I wanted to thank you all so much from the bottom of my heart. I dropped off the face of the Earth for a while there, while I was traveling and stressed and decompressing. It means so much to me to see you all come back and visit with me. Truly, I can’t even say. The friendships I have with all of you are so special to me, and I guess seeing you come back lets me know I might be a little bit special to you, too.

Second, I wanted to show off my smoothie from today. Yeah, I know, I am not the only person in the world who can make smoothies. But this one was so perfect and delicious, I just need to brag a little. Sadly, my photography does it no justice, but look…

Is it just me or is that the most gorgeous smoothie EVERRRRRR?

This smoothie was an accident. It was like freakin’ FROYO. I was trying to make my Chocolate Banana Strawberry Smoothie In a Bowl (you know, CBSSIAB) but… gasp… I only had two frozen strawberries! So, I tried to add a few frozen mixed berries, and, well, I added a LOT more than a few. I shall now refer to this as my Serendipity Smoothie.

Serendipity Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1 TBSP chia seeds
  • 2 TBSP chocolate protein powder
  • a squirt of agave syrup for sweetness
  • 1 frozen banana
  • a couple of frozen strawberries
  • “too many” frozen berries

Blend, pour into a bowl, enjoy with a spoon.

Blogging, but why, but whyyy???

Okay. Administrivia over. Now on to the main agenda item. (work, work, go away, come again another day)

There have been a bunch of bloggers lately posting about blog identity crises. They are asking themselves questions like “what is my blog’s purpose”, “what am I trying to say”, and “what sets me apart?”  Likewise, I’ve been having a few discussions with myself about my blog. In January, I repurposed my blog to focus on feeding my family better food. I renamed my blog “Merf In Progress” to pay homage to my slight obsession with self improvement, my constant dissatisfaction with the status quo, my need to improve everything.

It’s been six months. My son is eating great. Could I do better? Sure. But things have improved a lot. So, I am now finding myself in one of those blogger crises. Is this blog serving its purpose? What should I be doing differently?

Here are some stream-of-consciousness thoughts from me.

  • If this blog isn’t improving my life, what’s the point?
  • Reading blogs has inspired me more than I ever could have imagined. The friends I’ve made from blogging have enriched my life more than I could have ever imagined possible.
  • I want to get in better shape. I need to trim this waistline.
  • I’m still not eating the way I wish I was — too much sugar, too much processed food.

Negative, negative, negative. Hey, that’s me.

I have so much more to say on this, but that’s a start. I’ll save the rest for another day. Say bloggy boos, do you ever name your post before writing it, then after writing it you realize you totally missed the mark?  I pre-named this post “Treading Water.”  That is a post i need to write. This wasn’t it.

I would like to end this post by saying, I think “Big” might be the best movie of all time. And Tom Hanks is my idol.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Serendipity Smoothie (and my Blog’s Purpose)

  1. Woohoo! I was just commenting on the last post and then this one popped up:). Uhm, that smoothie looks awesome. I have not yet tried the smoothie in a bowl thing (I know, what am I waiting for?). But this is pretty good motivation to do so!

    Also, I feel you on the blog identity crisis. I think we all go through that! But, like you said, I remind myself about the friendships/advice/recipes/etc I’ve gotten out of blogging, and just take it one day at a time. I also do want to focus on eating a little healthier and less processed/sugary stuff!

  2. I saw the best image on Meals and Moves’ other site today (“things I see”, it’s called)—check this out: http://janetha.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/monday-06-06-11/

    It made me laugh because under 10 people regularly read and comment on my blog, and I’m really OK with that! However, I think many of us come out thinking we’re gonna be the next Big Six-er or something… but if we think more about what we get out of the blog instead of lionising ourselves and thinking about readership, that’s *bound* to be more satisfying, eh? Personally, I can’t even tell you why I read some blogs over others: it’s something in the tone, the personality, or the eye-candy that draws me in. And I don’t read *any* of the big blogs (except HEAB) because I think they’re impersonal and the community is what it’s ALL about for me. Why do we need to have a purpose beyond “I wanted to be a part of this awesome group of (almost entirely) women—sharing their lives and sharing mine with them”?

    Good post!

    • Christine says:

      What is HEAB? hahahah.

      When I started blogging, I had no idea there was a community aspect to it. For me, that’s turned into such a huge part of it. The connection is really fun.

  3. (PS: I’ve been a huge fan since I first read your blog, if I even needed to say it. I don’t care what your purpose is, I like your style, kid!) 😉

  4. Shannon says:

    Ummm…yummy looking smoothy! And I LOVE Big…

    I totally start with one title for a post and end up using something else. Even my best planned posts end up going off on multiple tangents! As for a blog purpose…the purpose of mine was first to teach me basic html, then to distract me when I was bored and now is just a hobby (a habit?!) and a way to keep in touch with a few people who I know in real life and see regularly, a few people who I know in real life and live far away and a few more people I’ve never met but know a whole lot about me because they read my blog…

    • Christine says:

      Thanks! I was watching Big last night. So. Good. Seriously makes me want to jump on a trampoline in a prom dress.

  5. lindsay says:

    i know you know where I stand on this. and a blog is ever evolving, just like life. Take and run with it. Switch gears, stay the same, whatever it might be, because the ultimate reason I read your blog is for YOU and YOUR heart. Cheesy, yep! But the truth.
    🙂

  6. lindsay says:

    p.s.
    email me about the nutrition thing you sent via twitter.
    😉

  7. I have a similar philosophy about blogging… you should be getting something out of it. What that is might vary greatly from person to person. But why do it if not in some way for yourself?

  8. Okay that is the most beautiful smoothie ever! I really try to make nice smoothies but they never come out as thick as I see on other blogs. Perhaps I’ll have to copy your recipe exactly in my next batch :).

  9. becca says:

    That smoothie looks DELICIOUS! Oh I cant wait to finally have a smoothie! YUM!!!

    I did the whole “identity crisis”… I”m not a weight loss blogger, I’m not a healthy living blogger and dont fgeel like I fit the competitor blog mold. I choose to now refer to myself as a hot mess blog and embrace it. Sometimes I talk about nothing, other times a blog post helps me out in so many ways. Dont ever stop! I wanna keep reading!

  10. I’ve always called myself a ‘healthy living blogger’ although I really just blog about life (not always healthy) in general. You’re so right that you have to blog for yourself and if you’re not somehow improving/learning/growing, then what’s the point? I love the community, the inspiration, the recipes, and the friendships from the blogworld – it’s all part of the reason why I do it. 🙂

  11. Allie says:

    It’s hard to define a blog! I try to narrow mine down, but there’s so much I want to say. I like the idea of a blog having a purpose, but then again, sometimes it’s nice to just “talk” and not worry so much about what is being accomplished. Hmmm…

    And that is one GORGEOUS smoothie.

    • Christine says:

      Yeah, I think it would be too much to expect every post to have purpose. But overall, it’s got to, at least for me.

  12. Allie says:

    Yes, that IS the most amazing smoothie I have ever seen. No joke. YUM .. I need to get me some chia seeds ASAP. Is ASAP business lingo?! LOL.. 🙂

    I LOVE your blog and I think you hit the mark every post.

  13. LauraJayne says:

    FYI – I adore you and your blog AND you are my healthy beauty product inspiration.

  14. Blogs always evolve, I know I’ve struggled with mine. I first had a food only blog…then when I started getting healthy I started my current blog to help keep track of working out and eating right along with my restaurant adventures. Then I dropped off the face of the earth for about a year when I was in la-la land with my BF, now my hubby. I was so pissed at myself that I stopped blogging for so long. It helps me cope with stress and share my passions. I don’t really stay consistent (sometimes I go into total restaurant mode, or total recipe mode…but trying harder to mix it up). But yay for blogging!!

    • Christine says:

      I totally agree. It has to evolve, or it just gets boring. I swear, I don’t know how people blog the exact same thing year after year.

  15. Christine your smoothie looks DELISH – wanna come make me one? Purty please? And re: the blogging thing. I definitely think blogs can morph. Mine started really heavy on DIY crafts but really has become a lifestyle blog about all sorts of things. 🙂 I’m cool with it and I have fun doing it. I definitely go through phases where I’m allll about it and where I find it hard to write. But, being a writer by training, I know how important it is to not stop so I keep on trucking along even if some posts are better than others. I really love your blog and reading about your in progress. I think your blog is very real, which I can’t say for many of them. I hope you stick around :))) I’ll be here even if you take breaks!
    xoxo
    Cat@BudgetBlonde.com

  16. Panda says:

    I think you have to constantly be reinventing yourself or you get stuck in a rut. The same is true for your blog – if you don’t water a garden, how will it grow, you know? Just keep writing whatever is on your mind – that is what I am trying to do – and figure the rest out as you go along.

    • Christine says:

      I definitely agree that you need to keep writing, keep thoughts flowing, etc. After all, I wouldn’t even be having this little dilemma if I wasn’t blogging, so that’s good.

  17. Missy says:

    As long as you are having FUN and liking blog….just BLOG, girl. No need for a purpose that is defined for US (unless you want your blog to be like a big deal, make money, 5,000 page views) because YOU come through.
    You could write about belly button lint one day, amazing intellectual cruelty-free advocacy another, or one day just show up and write “Hi! You wanna know what I did today?” and it is lovely.

    My most favorite blogs are all about the person and not about the classification and you’ve got personality, intellect and a whole lotta good stuff to share. Just do you!

Leave a Reply

