Gettin’ Fit and Lovin’ It

I’ve been trying to get more regular exercise lately, all part of my scheme to fit back into my pre-pregnancy clothes. I have been having a lot of trouble finding time to exercise, so it hasn’t been happening much. I would plan to go to the gym during my lunch hour, but would get called into a meeting at the last minute. I’d love to run outside but with a heat index of 100, that’s not happening. Once, I went to the gym after putting the kids to bed, but that means I don’t get to see my husband at all, plus I get to bed later than I want. And I can’t go in the mornings because…

because…

Hey, wait a minute!!! For the last year, I haven’t been able to go to the gym in the morning because of the baby, but these days we rarely hear a peep from the baby before 7:30 AM. I used to go to the gym at around 6 AM and loved it. Why can’t I do that now?

So last week, I put my thoughts into action and look what happened:

  • Tuesday: Treadmill (run 10, walk 3, run 10 + warm/cool)
  • Wednesday: Spinning (50 minutes)
  • Thursday: Swimming (25 minutes) + strength
  • Friday: Jog/Walk approximately 2 miles outside
  • Saturday: run 25 minutes at 4.7 + warm/cool + core strength

Right now, I’m trying to figure out where to go from here. I like to play it by ear when it comes to exercise, do whatever feels right on a given day based on how I’m feeling, how much sleep I got, what else I need to do that day, etc. But truth be told, that leads to a lot of days off. So I’m toying with the notion of actually scheduling workouts. This is what I’ve come up with so far:

  • Sunday: Rest
  • Monday: Spinning/Zumba/Swimming
  • Tuesday: Running/Elliptical + Strength
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: BodyAttack OR Running/Elliptical + Strength
  • Friday: Spinning/Zumba/Swimming
  • Saturday: Running/Elliptical + Core Strength

The other thing I’m working on is diet (of course). I’m working with a nutritionist. She’s got me paying attention to portion size and focusing on nutrients (so making sure I eat fruits, veggies, dairy, etc. in proper proportions). I haven’t gone grocery shopping yet since getting my meal plan, so this week I’ve been focusing on eating more fruit and trying not to eat crap. When I go grocery shopping, I’ll get more veggies and stock up on healthy snacks.

I have always heard how the secret to losing weight is to burn more calories than you consume. That’s fine, and I believe it in principle, but I still didn’t understand how it worked. Plus I had no idea how many calories I was burning, so it was easy to just say “I’m sure I’m taking in less than I’m burning”. This web page will tell you how many calories you are burning per day. To stay at your current weight, consume that many calories. To lose weight, consume fewer. To gain, more.

Here is a great article on calories — what they are and how they fuel your body. Now, if you consume fewer calories than you are burning, your body converts stored fat into energy. But how? This article on how dieting works answered a lot of my questions. I learned how 3,500 extra calories leads to one more pound of fat on the the body. This explains how I never seem to gain weight when I indulge in too many cookies or too much ice cream, but over time, those calories do add up. And finally, this article explains exactly how the body converts stored fat into energy when needed.

So right now, according to the calories burned calculator, I am burning 1,995 calories per day. That means if I had a 2,000 diet, my weight would stay pretty consistent. Therefore, my current plan is to consume fewer calories than that and to exercise a little bit more so I burn a little bit more. Consume Less. Burn More. Weight Loss!

(Aside: I have a few friends who read my blog, who have questioned my need to lose any weight. Just to clarify, I am taking some liberty with the term “weight loss.” My goal here is to get back into my pre-pregnancy clothes. Nine months of indulgent eating added up around the waistline. I know that I am not overweight. I don’t even care if the scale moves up or down. I am just not in fighting shape, and when I can comfortably button my old jeans, I’ll be thrilled, no matter what the scale says!)

That’s it. That’s the current plan. Pretty simple. Eat well and exercise, right? Speaking of which, it’s time for a cheese stick…

This entry was posted in burning calories, calories, diet, fitness, health, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Gettin’ Fit and Lovin’ It

  1. Great you're getting some exercize on a regular basis now! Regarding the calorie thing: I still haven't understood it, so I'll out those articles now. 😉

  2. I love Body Attack! have you tried it? It's one tough (and crazy) class! I wish I had half of the instructor's energy 🙂 Thanks for the website links – I'm going to check those out! I've never counted calories and it worked for me so far. But now that my weight is lower, I need to be a bit more aware of what I'm taking in if I want to lose more weight. Good luck with your new workout schedule!! Looks like a good one to me! 🙂

  3. lindsay says:

    this is awesome! I like you have a plan. it all begins there. And enjoy that cheese stick.
    😉

  4. I recommend the Lustig video about sugar addiction in terms of the whole “calories in / calories out = weight loss” thing. He talks about the biochemistry of the effects of different KINDS of calories. Eye-opening!

    Onward!

  5. Hannah says:

    Oh, friend. You do make me feel embarrassed about my whole “never exercises” thing 😛 Guess I'm the only person who can change that, huh… 😀

  6. Allie says:

    I really admire you! You know why? Because your a mom of two, you work, AND you find time to exercise. THAT is amazing and I honestly don't think I could do that! You. Rock. 🙂

  7. Thanks for the link! I'm having a really hard time losing weight- I've been trying since October and I've gained six pounds. I've been counting calories and I'm pretty good at exercising consistently, so I definitely shouldn't be gaining! Great job on the workouts. I wish I could muster up the courage to go swimming- it's such a good workout! I fear sharing pools with strangers…

  8. best of luck to you! often it's not how you look but how you feel. if you take good care of yourself you feel great. and that affects most everything!

  9. Sophie says:

    Good for you 🙂 I really need to join you in this!
    I don't have the excuse of having had a baby, merely a 3 month exam period but I could really do with getting back into 'fighting shape'!
    Only recently stumbled across your blog and I'm really enjoying reading 🙂

  10. LauraJayne says:

    Especially with running, but just with fitness in general, I like to have a plan! Right now, that just means walking and yoga (but I might start some water running) – and I've found that doing it first means that I can't “forget” to do it later! Having a plan also helps me to schedule harder and easier days – and to plan workouts according to potential soreness, etc!

  11. Christine says:

    And what a nice plan it is!

  12. Christine says:

    I haven't! Totally thinking of going this Thursday though. It looks FIERCE!

  13. Christine says:

    I hope you find them as interesting as I did!

  14. Christine says:

    Ah, well, I was your age once. Didn't have to worry about it so much back then!

  15. Christine says:

    I'll have to check that out. I am not quite as addicted to sugar as I was when I was younger. But I also probably consume more sugar than I even realize!

  16. Christine says:

    That's really sweet, Allie, thank you. I hate to use it as an excuse, but it is definitely harder to exercise as a full-time working mom. No way am I going to spend time at the gym when I could be playing with my babies!

  17. Christine says:

    Truth.

  18. Christine says:

    Have you ever tried one of those crazy short-term diets, like cutting out sugar, going vegan, doing a detox, etc?

  19. Christine says:

    I'm glad you're finding ways to exercise without running. Walking is underrated!!

  20. Christine says:

    Thanks, Sophie! I'm glad you like it! Join me, please, I need company!

  21. I'm going to take a peek at those articles! I just joined myfitnesspal.com and they tell you a pretty good starting point of how many calories you should be eating to lose a certain amount per week. If you exercise, then your calorie intake will increase.

    I really need to take a live Zumba class! Heard its better than the DVD 🙂

  22. Oh, it's not even that—it's just that ensconced in the video he has a great discussion about what prevents people from losing weight. Sugar's big, but there's so much MORE! (says the unapologetic nerd…) 😀

  23. Priyanka says:

    You had a busy week exercise wise girl, keep it up!!

  24. Good luck with the plan! You can do it!

    And yeah- my friend ran over lunch with the heat wave and all that. I called him an idiot… ugh

Leave a Reply

