Woo Zumba!

I didn’t make it to the gym today. 😦  I am the webmaster for a local non-profit, and one of my responsibilities is sending an email newsletter a few times a year. I absolutely love doing it, but last night it kept me up until almost midnight. So I knew I wasn’t going to be waking up at 5:30 AM to hit the gym today! Exercise is definitely important, but nowhere near as important as a good night’s sleep. Truth.

Tomorrow morning, I am planning on getting up bright and early for RPM, though. Have you ever been to RPM? It’s a Les Mills class offered at my gym. The first time I ever went was last week, and all I can tell you is that it kicked my butt. So of course I am going back, hehe.

So let me ask you… What’s your take on Zumba? Are you a fan? Have you never been? If you have been, do you feel like a colossal oaf like I do?

I absolutely love Zumba, but it makes me feel so uncoordinated. Especially when they do the hip thrust moves. There are Zumba classes at my gym almost every day, but I am hooked on Mondays because the instructor, Lorena, is amazing. She is also a serious “Woo Girl”. Here’s her picture that I swiped from her Facebook page:

She’s so freaking cute and upbeat, and she creates such an awesome atmosphere in her class. There are a ton of regulars in this class because Lorena is so awesome. She shouts “Woo!” and the class shouts “Woo!” right back at her. I’ve never heard anything like it. She’s also the best Zumba instructor I’ve ever had, hands down. She can turn to face the class and immediately switch to doing the moves as a mirror image. I’ve had instructors that can’t do the moves mirror image at all, let alone within two beats of turning around.

So Mondays are Zumba, and Wednesdays are RPM. Thursday I’m going to check out Body Attack, which is another Les Mills class and comes highly recommended by Lindsay.

(haha Woo Girls — does anyone else watch How I Met Your Mother?)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPTYoA5emWo

Oh P.S., come back tomorrow for the latest “Don’t Be Cruel” post with a giveaway!

This entry was posted in fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Woo Zumba!

  1. I have heard so much about Zumba and there are some classes going on in Nashville now so I think I might just have to check them out!

  2. You are completely right about finding a great instructor – it makes the difference on whether or not the class is good or not. I'm not a huge Zumba fan. I'm not really into the Latin type dance moves or music, but I LOVE the edgier more pop/hip-hop style Zumba. Different instructors do different things, so you have to find someone who focuses on what you like. I do feel somewhat silly in Zumba. I mean, really – who feels sexy in adidas shorts, a t-shirt, and running shoes? And to gyrate and thrust your hips in that outfit? I certainly don't feel, or LOOK, sexy – haha – but I have fun 🙂

  3. I've heard so much about Zumba. I think I'd like it since I've been dancing for 20 years. I pay a lot a lot a lot to take dance classes and I'm sure Zumba would be more cost effective but I worry about losing technique etc. Sigh – I'd love to just get a dvd and jam out in my living room to it!
    xoxo
    Cat@BudgetBlonde.com

  4. zumba is my absolute favorite form of cardio. i love any reason to shake my booty.

  5. lindsay says:

    all those classes kick my butt, in a good way! have a good class this morning. sweat fest!

  6. OMG Christine, imagine how silly I feel when I do Zumba — I have two left feet and my OWN SISTER is a Zumba instructor! Hahaha…when we went to a class together, I asked her not to tell anyone we are related, lol 🙂

  7. Allie says:

    Yeeaah sleep is way more important that exercise! Because if ya don't sleep and then exercise you will totally feel run down!

    Your Zumba instructor is adorable! Zumba is something I need to try!

  8. Christine says:

    Definitely try it. SO FUN!

  9. Christine says:

    What kind of dance classes do you take?

  10. Christine says:

    I *love* hip hop. My gym used to have a hip hop class that was so incredible, but it was canceled. I miss it so much. I'm far more coordinated at hip hop than zumba.

  11. Christine says:

    TRUTH.

  12. Christine says:

    Is she? Zumba instructors are like gods to me.

  13. Christine says:

    Thanks, Lindsay!

  14. Christine says:

    I know you do, haha!

  15. Here's her profile:
    http://urec.wsu.edu/more.aspx?bio=170

    Hahah, and she is totally one of those super high energy instructors. She is so awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

