Don’t Be Cruel 4: Beauty Without Cruelty

Hi everybody! I’ve been AWOL lately, I’m sorry. You know that little thing called “life”? But you know what gets me back in action?

The fight against ANIMAL TESTING!!!

I am so excited to bring you the fourth installment of my “Don’t Be Cruel” series. Today I’ll be sharing with you Beauty Without Cruelty.

It’s right there in the name folks — without cruelty. Think it fits? Darn tootin’ it does!  According to their website, BWC was founded in 1963 by an animal welfare organization in England called BWC Charitable Trust. Cruelty-free is at their very core. It goes without saying that their products are not tested on animals and do not contain any animal ingredients.

Disclaimer: I was provided with free product samples to review. I have not been otherwise compensated for this review and the opinions stated here are completely my own.

I’ve been gradually making my way through my beauty products, replacing products that are tested on animals with products that are cruelty-free. I’ve reviewed skin care, shaving products, and makeup.  Meanwhile, I had a bottle of Head & Shoulders in the shower that was whispering to me at every shower, you are a hypocrite! I don’t have dandruff, but I believe in the importance of a healthy scalp. So if you have dandruff, you may need a more intense solution. What I was looking for is something that makes my scalp tingle and makes my hair grow strong and shiny, without subjecting innocent animals to confinement and pain.

Enter BWC’s Rosemary Mint Tea Tree Shampoo:

Folks, I have to be honest here. I may never use another shampoo again. (Okay that’s a tiny lie because I do believe in switching up shampoos every couple months, but this will absolutely stay in the rotation.) The smell… oh my my, the smell… rosemary, mint, and tea tree… the smell is absolutely divine. It is the BEST way to start the day! The shampoo lathers nice, rinses clean, and smells so good. LOVE it.

Next up is the Rosemary Mint Tea Tree Conditioner.

Like the shampoo, this conditioner smells heavenly. The conditioner is light and rinses quickly. I have pretty dry hair prone to frizziness (or perhaps it’s just this Virginia humidity!) so with conditioner, I usually try to pick something aimed at dry hair. I see that BWC offers a “Moisture Plus” conditioner, and I’m planning to try that next.

Moisture Plus:

They also make the Revitalize Leave-In Conditioner which is supposed to protect hair from “the elements” (as my Grandmother called it), as well as protect from styling damage. My hair doesn’t have the luxury of seeing a blow dryer very often, let alone a flat iron, but I know many people use those so thought I’d mention this product, too. If your hair is anything like mine, you’ll try anything to keep the frizz and flyaways under control.

Lastly, BWC sent me fragrance-free lotion. Now, I know some of you (Becca, I’m looking at you) are not a fan of fragrance free products. I know, it’s totally boring. But some of us have skin allergies and prefer fragrance free products in order to avoid slathering hydrocortisone on our entire bodies for a week. It’s actually tough to find fragrance-free lotion that is cruelty-free. Most natural companies like to put natural fragrances and essential oils in their products, but guess what, we skin allergy people don’t like those either. Fragrance-free lotion is also good for people who like to wear perfume.

Please, folks, try to stick to just one scented item in your routine. Thank you. Signed, everyone you sit next to on the bus, everyone who works in your office, the people who ride with you in the elevator, and your family.

I absolutely love this lotion. It’s the closest thing to my favorite-lotion-which-shall-remain-nameless-because-they-test-on-animals that I have ever found. The consistency is not thick and creamy (but they do have an extra rich lotion if that’s your thing) nor is it so thin that it just feels like smearing water on your skin. It’s perfect. And best of all, no smell!!!

The best thing about BWC is I can purchase the products at Whole Foods, which means I can hide it in the grocery cart and pay for it with the grocery budget. Woo!

Would you like to try BWC products? Well, one lucky reader will win a full-sized Rosemary Mint Tea Tree Shampoo, Rosemary Mint Tea Tree Conditioner, and Fragrance-Free Lotion, courtesy of Beauty Without Cruelty.

Mandatory Entry: Visit the BWC website and tell me which product you’d love to try.

Additional Entries – one comment per:
Like BWC on Facebook.
Tweet “Enter the Beauty Without Cruelty giveaway on @merfinprogress. Contest ends 7/31!”

GOOD LUCK!!!

This entry was posted in don't be cruel. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Don’t Be Cruel 4: Beauty Without Cruelty

  1. Allie says:

    I really love this Don't be Cruel series! So informational 🙂

  2. I'd absolutely love to try their facial moisturizer.

  3. Allie says:

    I'm loving all these posts! I'd love to try the leave-in conditioner, as my hair is always in some stage of frazzled, and I'd love a good all-day conditioner.

  4. LauraJayne says:

    Finding cruelty-free, all natural, no crazy chemical-filled shampoo/conditioner has been my biggest challenge. I am really picky about shampoo, and because I only wash my hair once a week (yes, it's true – gross, I know) – a good shampoo has to be REALLY good! I'm definitely going to try these! Right now, I Giovanni – they've definitely been my best finds so far!

  5. […] Don't Be Cruel 4: Beauty Without Cruelty | Merf In Progress […]

  6. This looks great! I'm a huge animal lover & this is the perfect giveaway – thanks for hosting! I'd love to try their waterproof full volume black mascara!!!

    xoxo
    Cat
    @BudgetBlonde

  7. Kelsey says:

    I LOVE this series of yours. I would totally want to try the leave-in conditioner, b/c my hair gets really dry. Great giveaway!

  8. Kelsey says:

    I tweeted!

    And p.s. I totally relate to the whole life getting in the way of blogging thing. And I say life is a GREAT priority! 🙂

  9. I was cautioned against using Head and Shoulders by a stylist who said “god-awful for your hair!! There are better anti-dandruff shampoos!” So I'm happy for your hair's sake that it's passed on…

    I have REALLY abusively thick hair that involves lots of wrangling with products and implements of heat, so I've started to think about giving up shampoo lately. I'm reading about the alternatives, and this is definitely going to be cruelty-free. I'll keep you posted. 🙂

  10. Missy says:

    That shampoo sounds like it smells heavenly for sure.
    Thank goodness I do not have pica.

  11. Rach says:

    The lotion sounds perfect! I love what they are all about here… using beauty products without hurting animals in the process. Their name is perfect too. Thanks for the reviews!

  12. sophia says:

    Oh this is a great company with a great cause. Beauty without cruelty… unfortunately, I do think we are the most cruel to ourselves in terms of beauty. That said, I would love to try their shampoo so I can brush my hair knowing the product I used wasn't harmful to animals…and thus, feeling good myself. 🙂

  13. I am always a bit shy about using more natural and less mainstream shampoos b/c I have sooooo much hair (hairstylist says I can be one of the “RING” girls) and they tend to not wash it for me too well. But, I really do trust your judgment on these things and I'm definitely willing to give it a try! 😀 Missed you girl. ❤

Leave a Reply

