QUAAAAKE!!!

Hey everyone! Whatcha been up to? It looks like I’ve become a once-a-week blogger lately. I love you all for bearing with me and continuing to drop by and show me the <3.

This past weekend rocked my socks. Three years ago, my friend MP invited me up to her family’s house on the Jersey Shore for the weekend. I had a blast, and she told me I had an open invitation to visit, along with my family.  Three years later, earlier this summer, I asked MP if the offer was still open and she said yes! So, Thursday we packed the family up and drove the five hours to the shore. What a weekend it was! We drove through pouring rain to get there, and it poured all night. The forecast for Friday was pretty crummy, so I had a feeling we’d be holed up in the house all day driving each other crazy. But when I went downstairs for breakfast, I looked outside and saw the sun peeking out. MP and I walked down to the beach (which is about 100′ from her house, so cool) and saw this…

It turned out to be an absolutely gorgeous day.

The ice cream man comes by the beach throughout the day, and J-Man was thrilled to get this Spiderman popsicle, then to run into the ocean to rinse the drippy mess from his face and hands.

Here’s MP’s house. Hours were spent swinging on the porch swing, dozing in the hammock, rocking on the rocking horse, drinking beer while listening to the surf.

Did you see K-Dub in that picture? He’s on the porch swinging in the blue baby swing. Here, look again…

See him?  Isn’t he adorable?  LOL.

The entire weekend was absolutely spectacular. MP was such a great host and made us feel completely at home. Friday night we had a lobster dinner, and Saturday night we had crab cakes, shrimp scampi, and grilled tuna and steak. (Um, yeah, not all to ourselves, there were other family members in the house too!)

Sadly, all good things must come to an end, so Sunday morning we reluctantly packed back into the car and drove — again through the pouring rain — home.

Quaaaaake!!!

As you may know, I work from home. Today, I was pretty busy so fixed myself a late lunch and brought it into the family room. I was just sitting down on the couch to eat when I heard a loud noise and thought my cats were chasing each other and knocked something down. I got up to find out what was up and as I walked toward the front of the house, the sound got louder and more rumbly, and the entire house started to shake. I knew then that it was an earthquake.

Fallen dishes in the china cabinet

I’ve felt quakes before — a 3.6 last year and a 4.5 in 2003 — but never anything like this. The house and ground were shaking so hard, and things were falling off shelves throughout the house. I heard glass shattering and the chandelier was waving around.

One of my crystal wine glasses that my husband got me for our 5th wedding anniversary fell but didn't break -- phew!

I wasn’t sure what to do! I know what to do in a tornado, a thunderstorm, even a hurricane, but I had no idea how to react to a signifiant earthquake! I ran down to the basement then thought, wait, that’s a really dumb idea, I don’t want to be trapped down here, so I ran back to the main level.

Little things fell over all around the house.

By the time I got there, things were slowing down. The entire quake took about 40 seconds. Cell service was out, but we have a land line (for emergencies, imagine!) and I was able to get through to my husband, parents, and my children’s daycare. Everyone was fine. The children were woken up from their naps to evacuate, so J-Man was thrilled. Hooray playground! Down with naptime!

Our one casualty, a photograph of the lake, fell and the glass shattered. The photo is fine though.

Things fell over all over the house, mostly off of shelves. My son’s dresser drawers all opened, as did the drawers in his bathroom. Other than that, the only casualty was one framed photograph that fell and shattered. I cleaned it up pretty thoroughly, and I seriously hope I didn’t miss anything. Shattered glass and crawling babies do not mix.

My breakfast dishes fell off the table, and coffee spilled everywhere.

You may be wondering, how did I react to all this? Was I cool, calm, and collected? Did I scream at Mother Earth, “Bring it on, you don’t own me!”  No, indeed, far from it. I was completely terrified and totally thought the Earth was going to open up and swallow me whole. Afterwards, I couldn’t stop shaking, so I called my husband and just cried. It’s scary enough to be in a natural disaster, but to me it’s worse when I’m alone and worried about my kids.

But hey, I survived. Everyone did. Now excuse me while I go look for more pictures to straighten.

This entry was posted in beach, earthquake, family, life. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to QUAAAAKE!!!

  1. Missy says:

    Whoa.
    You know what? It's memories like these…that feeling “in the moment” that we have to hold on to. When hubbie …dunno…leaves is socks around and JMan…dunno….he's perfect right?
    You know what I mean….when the shizzle starts to fizzle we can remember that instant …. when vitality and love was everything and the only thing that mattered.

    PS- Glad you finally took them up on their offer for a visit!

  2. Wow. I saw your comment on Kath's blog about the broken glass… interesting to see what exactly went on!

    I felt it at work today here in NC, and was all alone. For a moment I thought I was crazy. Then dizzy. Then I realized what it was. It was pretty intense here, but I'm sure much more so up in your area! I have friends in the DC Metro area, and everyone had a slightly different experience with it. Bizarre.

    Glad everyone is okay. 🙂

    ~

  3. lindsay says:

    oh my gosh! I didn't know your area could get quakes!! thats scary! I am glad all of you are ok, minus the broken dishes.
    😦

  4. Allison says:

    Wow that is insane! I have only felt one earthquake in my life, 3 point something it was not bad. I didnt know what to do either! I ended up staying in my bed ( the quake was at 2 am), waiting 30 sec for it to be over, then passing out again. Glad everyone was safe!!

  5. Christine says:

    I have friends up here who didn't even feel it. My next door neighbor didn't have anything fall over, yet we did. It's so strange!

  6. Christine says:

    Amen, sister.

  7. Christine says:

    The 3's are kind of cool. You're like, oh neat, an earthquake. That was fun! 😉

  8. Christine says:

    I have always sort of loved that our area was not prone to any serious natural disasters. Humpf!

  9. Allie says:

    I'm glad you survived through the quake 🙂 I also like the vaca pictures!

  10. LauraJayne says:

    When I heard about the quake I was thinking about you! I'm glad everyone was okay (except for the broken dishes, etc) – but I can imagine it was terrifying!

    The beach weekend looks wonderful – it's been WAY too long since I've been to the beach!

  11. Grace says:

    Glad you are okay:) Sounds like a very fun time at the shore!

  12. Wow, what a shock! I'm so glad you and your family are okay! I have never experienced an earthquake myself but it must be just scary and make your feel so helpless!

  13. Scary! I'm glad you're okay! The only natural disaster we have to worry about here is earthquakes, and even though they happen so rarely, I've felt so many that I don't even bother trying to get in a doorway any more. I remember when the Northridge earthquake hit in the early 90's- god, that was huge!! On the other hand, if there was a tornado or hurricane warning, I would be freaking out!

  14. Crazy! I always have a delayed reaction in earthquakes, where my inner monologue actually goes “No, not an earthquake. I'd have heard about it if there was going to be an *earthquake*…” 😀

    Glad all's well that ends well—and you're breathing normally again!

    (PS: definitely stay friends with people who have beach houses. Definitely. And check this out—did you know your son is an artist already? http://www.meredithallen.com/work/view/12/2227 )

  15. Ah, oh my gosh that is so scary! I'm so glad you and your family are safe and unharmed! I'd like to think I'd be calm and collected in a situation like that – but I'm pretty sure I'd be scared shitless! Especially until I was able to confirm that my son and family were safe and sound!

  16. Rach says:

    So glad you guys are all okay! Sorry about the picture breaking, but so glad your glasses and china didn't break!!

  17. While we're all happy you're still here to blog about it – I'm still sorry some of your stuff broke. 😦 Good point about what to do. I'm not sure what to do in a quake either, aside from squealing and freaking out of course.

  18. Natural disasters are so scary…we can't control them. Not good for a control freak 😦

    Glad your safe!

  19. Hannah says:

    So glad everything was okay after the quake! I did my exchange year in Charlottesville, so felt strangely connected and nervous about the quake! HUGS.

    P.S. That popsicle looks CRAZY.

  20. Kelsey says:

    the quake was so crazy! apparently NYC got it, too, but I didn't actually feel it. leave it to me to not notice an earthquake when it's happening! 🙂 So glad everything was okay!

    also–I think it's great however much (or little) you decide to post! I'm actually heading in the direction of posting less myself, and it feels weird to make that transition, but I think the readers I want to keep will go with it….

  21. Yikes! That's so scary! I was in Richmond, and our office building rocked pretty hard! But nothing broke (that I know of) but we did have to evacuate and all that!

  22. Heeeeeyyyyyy, how are you doing? Hope everybody in your lovely family is well!

  23. Christine says:

    “Inspired me to post” is what I tried to type. 🙂

  24. Christine says:

    Hi Kath! Thanks for the note. You have inspired me to I think I'll post something tonight.

Leave a Reply

