Me Again — WIAW!

Yes, that’s right, two posts in less than 24 hours. CRAY CRAY!   But it’s What I Ate Wednesday, and I actually have something to share. If you want to participate or want to drool over 100+ WIAW posts, head on over to Peas & Crayons!

Here are some items I recently picked up from the farmer’s market. (Okay, truth be told, the following pictures are ancient, but I never posted them (I think?) and still want to!)

A tomato, zucchini, red onion, white onion, pattypan squash, and some potatoes. YUM!

Chopped up and sauteed the squash, zucchini and white onion along with some bell peppers and mushrooms. YUM!

I served it with quinoa and it was absolutely delicious.

Another thing I’ve been eating a lot of for breakfast and snacks, yogurt with berries and granola…

Also with breakfast, I always have at least one cup of coffee from my beloved Keurig.

More often than not in my beloved “vi reference” mug. Nerd alert!!!

Two recent dinners… firecracker chicken (panko crusted, pan fried, with a pepper jelly on top), sweet potato fries and sauteed spinach.

This one is Jamaican jerk chicken with pineapple salsa, garlic mashed potatoes, and sauteed zucchini/mushroom/onion.

The other day, I was suddenly overcome with a brownie craving. I hit up Mama Pea’s website to see if she had a recipe, and of course she did. So I made her Double Chocolate-Single Chin Brownies. SO DELICIOUS!!! I will be making these again and again and again. They were moist and had little bits of melted chocolate in them. I just might have to make a double batch next time because J-Man really liked them, too.

Now that WIAW is done, here is a last bit of randomness for you. When I took my son shopping for his school supplies, I saw this in the checkout line and just had to have it! (Nerd alert #2!!!)

This is the kind of thing I should really keep to myself, but I am totally obsessed with mechanical pencils. I do so many logic puzzles and sudoku puzzles that I have mechanical pencils all over the house. This pack has twenty pencils in cute patterns, but what really sold me was not the 70 lead refills but the thirty six extra erasers. Be still my heart. (When you do logic and sudoku puzzles, you erase a lot.) Oh, and there is a little plastic storage pouch to hold everything together. Yes, these are the things that thrill me.

One last thing! I’ve just reviewed Rules of Civility for the BlogHer book club. It’s about a young woman and her friends in New York City in 1938. You can check out my review here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Me Again — WIAW!

  1. Delicious looking eats!

    I love this time of year… school supplies!! (even though I’ve not been a student for YEARS). Pens are more my thing; I haven’t used a pencil in years. But I understand your thrill… C’mon, notebooks get me hot, so… yeaaaaah. (tmi? ha). 🙂

    ~

  2. Allie says:

    I keep seeing sweet potatoes fries, and they keep looking better and better (and I even just ate lunch–can’t even blame the craving on hunger 😀 ) Love the dorky mug–nothing wrong with that!

  3. I am totally nerding out on that pencil collection! I dislike mechanical pencils (I write too hard and break the lead…) but I can appreciate the love of a writing instrument – I have quite the pen collection! 😀 #FellowNerd

    the squash saute looks great – something I have to make myself when J is out of town – no go on squash!

    • Christine says:

      Mechanical pencils are perfect for puzzles, because you write very lightly with the intention of erasing a lot. I would be so sad if my husband didn’t like squash. I cook it a lot!

  4. I want those brownies for sure! Love the mug 🙂

  5. I love the looks of those veggies. I made quinoa tonight but it seemed like it’d gone rancid…too bad

  6. I just got a Keurig and I am obsessed with it. It makes the most perfect cups of coffee and it makes them sooo easily. Needless to say I need to try to control my coffee intake a bit better these days!

  7. Pattypan squash are so cute! I’ve never bought one, but I’ve eaten them in restaurants before. Funny story- my brother does not eat vegetables at all and has no idea what I’m eating half the time, but when I ordered something with pattypan squash in it at a restaurant he knew exactly what it was because he saw it in Farmville. Haha!

  8. Hannah says:

    Nerds are the best! I’m also glad you included two of my favourite things- chocolate and vegetables. 🙂

  9. I SO would have bought that pack of mechanical pencils too. I love mechanical pencils! And lose them like whoa so a pack of 20 would be heaven.

  10. Pepper jelly! One of my fave things that is totally underrated.

    I just picked up a “liquid pencil” from the store the other day. I was so excited that I embarassed myself. I love writing in pencil!

    • Christine says:

      Liquid pencil? Liquid PENCIL?!?! I never knew there was such a thing but I just Googled it. Looks so cool! My twenty mechanical pencils are becoming obsolete already!

  11. You crack me up. The mechanical pencils are super cute though. Even a non-mechanical pencil lovin gal would pine for them. And yes yall have been getting some intense weather in the DC area lately eh? Just when I move away from Richmond, it gets wild and crazy over there.

    xoxo
    Cat

  12. LauraJayne says:

    I think pattypan squash is so cute. So cute, that I can’t cook it. I use it as a “display” until it’s too late to cook it.

    So glad you’re back! I’ve missed you!

    • Christine says:

      Buy an extra one next time so you can cook it. 🙂 I’ve heard they are wonderful to stuff, but I just chopped it up and sauteed it.

  13. Missy says:

    Mechanical pencils, huh?
    I love it.

    PATTYCAKE squash say WHAT?
    It is a veggie I have not conquered.Thanks for the inspo!

  14. Please forward some of the blueberries my way!! And I didn’t know that non-Canadians used Laurentian pencil crayons. Too funny! I grew up *near* the Laurentians, so it always felt like a homegrown sorta thing… I will always love you, back-to-school!

  15. Allie says:

    Your eats look GREAT! I am soo jealous of you Kuerig… I have a Tassimo and it hardly has any good coffee brands ughh lol!
    Have a GREAT weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

