Cheap Kombucha, Mega Grilled Cheese

Okay, for some reason unbeknownst to me, I’ve been taking a lot of food photos lately. Probably because I don’t share photos of people (except for my sweaty face after the occasional run), so the next most obvious thing to photograph is food!

As promised, Friday morning began with toaster waffles topped with protein frosting (one scoop vanilla protein powder mixed with some milk) and peanut butter. So good, and so much more interesting than plain old Earth Balance and syrup.

For lunch I was craving eggs again. This time, I scrambled two eggs and made a wrap with Trader Joe’s whole wheat wrap, eggs, swiss cheese, avocado, lettuce, and salsa. Eggs are so easy to prepare and so delicious!

 

 

Today began with taking my son for his first ever swim lesson. J-Man is a total water rat, fearless in the pool, diving, going underwater, etc., but he can’t yet swim without a vest. It’s time to learn! The class is pretty basic, and for most of the class, the children had to sit on the side of the pool and watch the instructor. J-Man hated it!!! He likes to be in the pool splashing around, not sitting on the wall! From now on, I plan to wear my swimsuit as well, so that we can swim for a while after the boring class.

After class, J-Man and I dropped K-Dub and Daddy off at home for naptime, and J-Man and I headed to Target for some shopping!!! We needed to get a couple of birthday presents and some groceries. I was so excited to finally see this on the shelves! And unlike my local healthstore that charges $4.19, at Target it is $2.99. Woo!

And I must admit, I made a tiny impulse buy… but seriously, who could resist?

Oh, I love me some sriracha!!! (channeling LauraJayne) Unfortunately, these are not as amazing as I’d hoped. They’re good, don’t get me wrong, but they could have been so much better.

For lunch today, I made awesome on a plate. Tina and Stefanie have both posted about grilled cheese recently (okay, they were making it for their kids, but hey…) and I combined their sandwiches into one. SO GOOD.

I “buttered” two slices of bread with Earth Balance, smeared one with hummus, layered on smashed kidney beans, a slice of tomato, a slice of Muenster, and cooked it up on the griddle. It was so delicious and packed with goodness! Enjoyed with two clementines…

After lunch, I took J-Man across the street to a neighborhood birthday party where there was a surprise guest — Screech!  No, not this Screech:

It was THIS Screech!

… the Washington Nationals mascot! And needless to say, my baseball-obsessed five year-old was stoked.

Well, it was a busy Saturday, nonstop running around, and I am beat. Catch you tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Cheap Kombucha, Mega Grilled Cheese

  1. OMG Kombucha @ Target!?!?!??!?! That is amazing.

  2. lindsay says:

    i just found kombucha for a dollar at our local health store. I was stocked up!! And now you are making me want grilled cheese. Thats one childhood meal I will always love.
    🙂

  3. Hannah says:

    Oooh, I’ve had wasabi peas and coconut peanuts like those, but sadly sriracha doesn’t even exist as a sauce here, so I’m bereft of sriacha peas 😦

  4. Rach says:

    Haha! I totally would’ve loved it if it had been the Screech from Saved by the Bell – oh what a great show, haha!

  5. Grilled cheese is the best! I’m not a huge sandwich fan normally, but grilled cheese are SO GOOD. Debating having one as a late evening snack now…

  6. Oh all of your food looks so delicious! I love Kombucha and we have been making our own for several months now. So good and so much cheaper!!

  7. When I was younger my parents used to joke that I should open a grilled cheese restaurant because that is literally all I would eat. Even today I have it at least twice a week. My latest was grilled cheese with asparagus inside. YUM!

  8. Missy says:

    Let’s hope as the popularity of Kombucha increases the cost decreases.

    PS- Your pics make me hungry.

  9. Allie says:

    I’m loving all the food pictures!!

  10. LauraJayne says:

    I was SOLD on your post when I saw the “cheap kombucha” – if I wasn’t swamped, I’d drive to my Target right now to see if they carried it!

  11. Allie says:

    Aw, sad to hear sriracha peas aren’t all they could be, because that is an amazing idea (okay, everything involving sriracha is amazing…).

  12. I totally could have sworn I commented here, about the religion that is grilled cheese in Brazil… maybe I dreamt it… very possible. 🙂

    • Christine says:

      Hahaha, I think you made your grilled cheese comment on my last post. I didn’t even notice since I read it in my email. 😀

Leave a Reply

