My Mug Is Full of Happy

I’m a little bit ahead of the game here, since it’s not even Wednesday yet, but since I’m not the most reliable blogger, I thought I’d go ahead with my WIAW post for the week!

I’m not sure which Target purchase I am more excited about… the $2.99 GT’s Kombucha or this mug:

I was looking for some new teaspoons (we never seem to have enough!) and this mug was screaming buy me!!! So I did. I follow directions. Drinking from this mug has filled me with happy. I need more mugs that fill me with happy (as well as 16 oz of delicious hot Keurig coffee).

I need to make sure I tell Kath about my happy mug for her “Yogi Tea Wisdom and Lovely Mugs” series! Along with my happy coffee, I have been enjoying this again:

Hot oats! 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, 1 T chia seeds, 1/2 banana, whip whip whip whip whip! Oh, and 1 T peanut butter shoved into the middle for a melty surprise!

For a snack yesterday, I tried to make Katie’s Oat Bran Pumpkin Protein Cake. Guess what I found out.  “Oat bran” and “rolled oats” are not the same thing! I’m guessing that’s why my cake came out looking like this:

Leaning Tower of Gross-a

It tasted as disgusting as it looks (well, except the protein frosting which was yummy). I had two bites then threw it out. I tried twice more with different types of flour that I have on hand, and none worked. Guess I’ll try again when I actually have oat bran! Check out Katie’s post, though, because hers looks delicious! Why couldn’t I make one? Whyyyy???

Lunch today was a hugh jass salad – spinach, tomato, kidney beans, carrot, onion, and dressing made from balsamic glaze, mustard, and stevia. Delicious! But wow, is the coloring of this photo awful. My salad looks radioactive.

My snack today was a smashing success! I’ve seen it posted on blogs before, but when Kath posted her apples and cinnamon today, I had to have it right then. Seriously, right then. I marched straight into the kitchen, sliced up an apple, sprinkled on cinnamon, took the obligatory blog photo, then sprinkled about 3x more cinnamon and devoured! SO GOOD! Why did I wait this long to try apples and cinnamon. I want to eat this every day for all of apple season.

For dinner I had cereal. I’ll spare you a photo of Cheerios.

And those are my eats, my friends. Happy WIAW to you!

This entry was posted in eat, wiaw. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Mug Is Full of Happy

  1. Hannah says:

    Oat bran are different in texture but that shouldn't affect taste at all! I am confuddled by that. p.s. it's wednesday here! 😛

  2. katie says:

    Haha! Yours looks good! It should not affect the taste though! Maybe add more sweetener to it!!!! Love it though! Or you might just not be a pumpkin oat cake kind of girl ; )

    Love the HUGE salad! I have a big salad every night usually!

    Happy WIAW!!

    xoxo ❤

  3. lindsay says:

    i think the mug and kombucha are a tie.. Who doesnt love a brand new cute mug??
    Leaning tower of grosse still looks good to me, am i nuts?

  4. Allie says:

    The new mug is so cute!! Makes me happy just seeing it!

  5. Nothing wrong with cereal for dinner! And honestly so many of my meals are NOT pretty. They don't look photogenic at all!

  6. Allie says:

    Haha, I love how that protein cake looks, crazy leaning-ness and all. Shame it wasn't any good 😦 And I always take pics of my meals pre-cinnamon too, because things end up SLATHERED and I don't feel like a bowl of brown dust is particularly photogenic 😀

  7. LauraJayne says:

    Mmmm… I'm wanting some cinnamon apples right now too! I LOVE fall food! Happy WIAW!

    Have you tried the Chia breakfast cereal? I can't eat oats any more, but I've been a little reticent to try a JUST chia seed breakfast.

  8. Grace says:

    I hate messing up recipes it is so upsetting…I feel like I do it too frequently.

  9. oh no that oatbranless cake looks so good! I'm sorry to hear that it wasn't but you could have told us it was divine and I'd never know the difference!
    that said, the chia oats look really good. I need to get back into chia I think.
    sometimes I take a picture of my meals and I'm like…that's so ugly. So I just eat it. 🙂

  10. I have the most random mug collection. Because that happens to me ALL the time! Funny how you can get so excited over something so silly… right?

  11. I just found your blog from Peas and Crayons and just wanted to pop in to tell you that i have the same mug from Target! Just got it the other day 🙂

  12. Shannon says:

    Your mug looks so nice 🙂

  13. I hate when I make something that I think is going to be delicious and it isn't! I still want to try that recipe- anything that involves pumpkin and can be made in the microwave is worth a shot 🙂

  14. Whee, wonderful that you liked the cinnamon apples so much! It's one the easiest and loveliest things! 🙂

    Your mug is beautiful! You can just send me one of those pictures if you like, or both. 🙂 Or I can copy them from your blog if that's okay for you.

    Your hot oats remind me of home … My mom used to make them sometimes, and my dad often had them for breakfast. (Not now currently because he does a strict gluten-free diet currently due to his bowel issues, and oats are off the list as well because the contain this protein that is chemically quite similar to gluten.) Sorry for the pumpkin oat cake! The original is pretty, but yours looks funnier. 😛 It should have tasted good at least, though!

  15. Missy says:

    Apple SEASON!!!!

    I can't believe you never had apples and cinny! That's a …cin.

    You could warm them up in the microman and top with some cold yogurt if you want. MMmmmm. I don't eat granola but if I did I'd be puting some on top of that.

  16. […] Merf In Progress Trying to be the best me that I can be. Skip to content HomeAbout MerfEatRead ← My Mug Is Full of Happy […]

Leave a Reply

