My Word For 2013

I have seen several bloggers who choose a word to represent their upcoming year, a word they want to inspire them. Tina at Best Body Fitness chose “joy” to remind her to enjoy her life even when she’s going going going. Lindsay at Cotter Crunch chose “nurture” to remind her that is her role and she needs to focus on it. Erin at A Girl and Her Mutt chose “sparkle” because sometimes you need to remind yourself to shine! And Clare at Fitting It All In chose “accomplish” because for her, this is a year to focus on achieving some major milestones.

I love how everyone finds a word that represents them, where they are in their lives, what’s going on, and what their values are. I have to admit, I had a lot of trouble coming up with my word. There are a few things I really want to focus on this year, and I could find a word that tied them all together. One is I want to nurture relationships — be a better friend, wife, daughter, mother. Another is I want to get my house in order, organized and finish up some projects (like finally hanging pictures in the hallway that have been framed and sitting in a stack for two years). Another is I want to be smarter about how I spend money.

I thought about making my word “execute” because I really want to focus on DOING things, not just thinking about them. But execute has such a negative connotation. It’s not really an inspiring word. I thought about “DO” but it felt too short. Anyway, after a lot of thinking and a two-mile walk (during which I dropped and shattered my iphone), my word came to me:

AWARENESS

I want to increase my awareness, how much I am paying attention to things. Only when I am aware can I see the things that I need to do. If I am aware of my surroundings, I will see the pile of stuff in the corner and do something about it. If I am aware of my calendar, I will know that a holiday or birthday is coming up and can plan accordingly. If I am aware of my husband and children, I will know what is going on with them and what they need from me. If I am aware of how I spend money, I will think twice about purchases, will reduce impulse buys, etc.

When I’m aware, I can make smarter choices, plan ahead, and meet commitments. It ensures that I address issues that are in front of me instead of pushing them to the side. Awareness drives action. So that’s going to be me in 2013.

Did you choose a word for 2013? What is it and why did you choose it?

This entry was posted in 2013 word, awareness, new year, resolutions, word of the year. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Word For 2013

  1. I hadn't seen this around–but what a great idea! Love the idea of increasing awareness, too. It's so easy to just get in a routine/go through the motions every day, but being aware and present is so important!

  2. Christine says:

    Thanks, Allie! I considered “presence” as well, which is something I'm really working on.

  3. Mine is strength. I want to strengthen so many things both physically and emotionally. Awareness is a great word! I also like present.

  4. Missy says:

    That is the perfect word (just completeing my mindjugg marathon here and hope you are feeling better and go you for being AWARE of the fact you needed to take care of yourself and hence cancelling the brunch.)

    I can totally see how it can encapsulate all the stuff you wrote in the last post. I too took a while to “settle” on a word because….well you get it — it had to me “given” right?

    I finally followed God's lead to the word I kept focusing on and realized that must be it. Behave>
    I bet you wish your kids had a one word year too now right? 😛

  5. that's the word for YOU! and it will happen. Accomplish, it feel it. one day at a time.

  6. Christine says:

    Thanks, Lindsay! Ahh, I finally found it, yahoo!

Leave a Reply

