S.M.A.R.T. Goals

I noticed that most of my resolutions are not S.M.A.R.T. Have you ever heard that goals should be S.M.A.R.T.?

S – Specific
M – Measurable
A – Attainable
R – Realistic
T – Timely

My resolutions are more focused on my values and my purpose. But it is always a good idea to have some measurable goals as well. So, I created two for 2013.

Goal #1: Read 24 Books

First, I joined the 2013 Reading Challenge on Goodreads. I signed up to read 24 books. That’s two books per month. Doesn’t seem like too much when I write it down, but the truth is, I don’t get through books super fast. Between time on the computer (blogs, Facebook, etc.), watching TV, doing puzzles, playing with my kids, cleaning the house, etc. books often take a back seat. But that’s where S.M.A.R.T. goals come in! It’s a reminder to myself to read and to make it a priority. Twenty-four books is perfectly attainable. And a sub-bullet of this goal is that I will not read 24 David Baldacci books, but will read at least 12 non-fiction books or classics. So far, I have added to my Kindle The Color Purple and Man’s Search for Meaning. Right now, I am reading 11/22/63 by Stephen King, which is wonderful but LONG.

Goal #2: Walk 365 Miles

On January 1st, I received an email from RunKeeper telling me I should set an annual mileage goal for myself. I am not a regular runner, and I have had various illness issues as of late. But it seemed like a great opportunity to set a S.M.A.R.T. goal for myself. I decided on 365 miles, which is obviously an average of one mile per day. I’d like to turn this goal from walking into running, and in time I will. But for now, while I regain my health and my strength, getting out in the fresh cold air and walking two miles is a great start. I did it yesterday and again today, and plan to keep this up all year. 
I look forward to recapping at the end of the year and being able to say whether I met my goals or not brag about meeting my goals! 
So tell me, did you set any S.M.A.R.T. goals for 2013?


This entry was posted in 2013 reading challenge, goals, goodreads, runkeeper, running, s.m.a.r.t. goals, smart goals, walking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to S.M.A.R.T. Goals

  1. allieksmith says:

    I like your goals!! I also like the concept of S.M.A.R.T. .. it totally makes sense!

  2. I love both these goals–I'm always guilty of making things too vague/immeasurable, and then of course I don't stick with them! I need to get a bit more SMART about it, har har.

    P.S. You should friend me on goodreads! I LOVE that site 🙂

  3. Christine says:

    Thanks, Allie! I hope you're feeling better!

  4. Christine says:

    There is no forgottenbeast on Goodreads, that I could find. Friend me — http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1803638-christine — yahoo!

Leave a Reply

