Fresh Produce FTW!!!

I recently discovered a local produce company called East Side Produce. They are located in Eastern Maryland and deliver fresh produce weekly right to your (my) front door. I’ve purchased three boxes from them so far and am completely hooked. The first time I ordered, I got the large box, but it was a bit much for my family of four. Since then, I have ordered the small box which is a much better fit for us.

Week 1

My first box had the following:

  • Green Leaf Lettuce (1 bunch) 
  • Arugula (1 bunch) 
  • Beet Bunches (3 beets) 
  • Yams (4) 
  • Yellow Tomatoes (4) 
  • Cucumbers (6) 
  • Petite Bananas (8) 
  • Kiwis (8) 
  • Lemons (8) 
  • Red Grapefruit (4) 

(I approximated the numbers because I don’t remember exactly how many of each thing I got)

I chopped up the lettuce and arugula and used it throughout the week for salads, with cucumber and yellow tomatoes on top of course! I boiled up the beets which were sooooo delicious. For the yams, I just microwaved them and served them with brown sugar and margarine. The bananas were awesome and we had no trouble finishing them off. My six year old ate all the kiwis by himself. I ate all the red grapefruits, which by the way are INSANELY delicious with Stevia on top. And I never did eat all the lemons (oops). I used the lemons to make salad dressing and ate a LOT of salads this week!!!

Week 2

The second week I ordered the small box, which contained:

  • Romaine Lettuce (1 bunch) 
  • Ginger (a lot) 
  • Green Pepper (4 small) 
  • Snow Peas (a bag full) 
  • Braeburn Apples (4) 
  • Garlic (3 heads) 
  • Grape Tomatoes (a bag full) 
  • Sweet Onions (2) 
  • Cara Cara Oranges (3) 
  • Radish Bunch (1) 

I tried to be as good about the salads as the week before, but I really wasn’t. I ended up wasting some of the romaine. I haven’t decided what to do with the ginger yet, but I should hurry up and freeze it. I used the bell peppers to make stuffed peppers. The snow peas, grape tomatoes, and radishes were eaten on salads, but I didn’t quite finish them. Ate all the apples and oranges. Didn’t eat the onions. Roasted the garlic, which was insanely delicious.

Week 3

The third week, I again ordered a small box, and it had:

  • Frisee Lettuce (1 bunch) 
  • Bosc Pears (3) 
  • Red Potatoes (a lot) 
  • Roma Tomatoes (3) 
  • Bunch Carrots (2 carrots) 
  • Watercress (bunch) 
  • Red Delicious Apples (4) 
  • Gold Pearl Onions (bag full) 
  • Zucchini (1) 
  • Red Bell Pepper (2 large) 

I didn’t do great with the lettuce/watercress or tomatoes. I think I only had two salads, and none of the watercress. I ate all the pears and apples. Used the carrots, zucchini, and red bell peppers to make stuffed peppers. Here’s the recipe for the stuffed peppers, but I used zucchini instead of spinach and black beans instead of kidney beans. I only had two peppers, so I stuffed them and the rest of the filling is what my kids had for dinner since they don’t like bell peppers anyway. My kids LOVED it. Still have the bag full of pearl onions, which I should cook before they go bad. I made potato salad out of the red potatoes and served that at two parties over the weekend!

Week 4

Okay so here we are on the fourth week, and I really want to make sure I don’t waste any food. I thought about not ordering this week, then I realized that $30 isn’t that much to spend on produce, and the variety really makes me get inventive. So coming tomorrow is:

  • Red Leaf Lettuce 
  • Yellow Squash 
  • Idaho Potatoes 
  • Celery 
  • Golden Pineapple 
  • Green Beans 
  • Spanish Onions 
  • Baby Bella Mushrooms 
  • Granny Smith Apples 
  • Arugula

The red leaf lettuce and arugula will be for salads. I’ll cook up the squash, potatoes, and beans. The pineapple and apples will get eaten, as fruit always does in this house. Celery and mushrooms make me think of soup, so maybe there is soup in my future this week.
 
Despite the cost, I really like this fresh delivered produce. It encourages me to eat more fruits and vegetables. It encourages me to get inventive with recipes. It encourages variety in the diet, which I think is healthy for everyone, but especially for my 2 and 6 year old sons. And it keeps us from getting in a food rut.

Fresh produce FTW!

This entry was posted in produce, produce delivery, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

