Elimination Diet Day 1 (Well, mostly…)

Today, I started eliminating gluten and dairy from my diet to see what impact it might have and whether I have a sensitivity to either one. I actually had a bagel and cream cheese for breakfast, because a friend brought it into work just for me, so my elimination diet started after that. 

I decided to eliminate gluten and dairy for three weeks. I also considered eliminating corn and soy, then decided not to. I may come to regret that decision, we’ll see.
The rash currently on my feet 😦
The symptoms I have — which could possibly be related to a food sensitivity — are:
  • frequent sickness (colds, sore throats)
  • rashes on body (mostly behind knees, tops of feet, bikini line, lower back)
  • nasal congestion
  • post-nasal drip
  • bloating and gas, abdominal discomfort
  • brain fog
  • fatigue, low energy
  • anxiety, panic
  • fainting, faintness in stuffy or hot rooms
Here is my food diary for today:
Breakfast:
  • red delicious apple
  • garlic bagel
  • plain cream cheese
  • Green tea
  • Calcium, multivitamin, fish oil
  • Claritin & Zantac
Lunch:
  • Red leaf lettuce
  • Garbanzo beans
  • EVOO
  • balsamic vinegar
  • Celery (ugh, I hate raw celery)
  • Water
  • Calcium, fish oil
Snack:
  • So Delicious coconut milk ice cream bar (OMG yum)
  • Raw coconut water
Dinner:
  • Chevy’s Fresh Mex
  • a few corn chips
  • shrimp fajitas w/corn tortillas
  • shrimp, onions, pinto beans, pico, sour cream (DOH!!!!!!!), guacamole
  • margarita on the rocks
  • Claritin
  • Calcium, fish oil
The verdict? 
First, I didn’t have a huge issue avoiding gluten. I like fish and meat and vegetables (and CORN!). If I had to give up corn it would be harder. 
Second, I ate sour cream without even realizing it. Darn!
Third, I am super bloated and gassy right now. Why, I wonder? I felt great all day so I don’t think it’s the bagel and cream cheese from this morning. My guess is it’s something from dinner — could be the sour cream, or maybe the margarita (alcohol? sugar?).
Also, I should mention that I hit up Whole Foods today for gluten- and dairy-free goodness (hence the So Delicious ice cream bar). Here are some of the GF/DF things I bought:
  • Bob’s almond flour
  • So Delicious hazelnut coconut milk creamer
  • Rice Dream vanilla 
  • Unsweetened almond milk
  • some kind of GF cereal
  • GF brownie mix
  • Quinoa
  • Toasted buckwheat (can’t wait to try this!)
  • GF toaster waffles
I also bought normal things like eggs, avocados, and some veggies to make a detox soup.
I’m excited for tomorrow. I think I’ll have a poached egg, toaster waffle, fresh pineapple, and coffee with coconut milk creamer for breakfast. For lunch, maybe I’ll get that detox soup cooked up.  Oh wow, check out this recipe I just found. I am so totally making this tomorrow, using some of my squash and baby bellas too: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/lentil-and-buckwheat-salad/
Good night!
This entry was posted in bloating, dairy free, elimination diet, food sensitivity, gluten free, rash. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Elimination Diet Day 1 (Well, mostly…)

  1. My experience with food allergies are that the symptoms may take a couple of hours to come up. With dairy, it sometimes took 6 hours or longer, however gradually the onset came faster, so in the end I could already feel my throat swelling while drinking a cup of coffee with milk. I'm not sure about soy, I haven't tested it again yet. Probably I will when I've finished my gluten experiment. I never ate soy (truly!) until my mid 20s when I switched cow's milk for soy milk for a week (during which I felt terrible). I've read that about 25 % of the people with casein allergy are allergic to soy protein as well due to quite similar molecular composition of milk and soy protein. I don't plan to become a big soy eater anyway as I tend to have problems with the hormones (in the week when I consumed about half a liter of soy milk a day I got depression, and I also get the worst depression from birth control pills, which is why I can't take hormonal contraceptives). However, it would be nice to be able to have a little bit of tofu every now and then, now that I've turned to a plant-based diet. Otherwise I'm perfectly happy with homemade almond milk. Trying to make almond yoghurt work out is on the schedule now as the hubby loves yoghurt so much.

Leave a Reply

