Gluten Free and Dairy Free — So Far, So Good

Okay I know it’s only been a couple of days, but so far gluten- and dairy-free eating has been pretty simple. It takes planning and preparation, as well as a stocked refrigerator and pantry. But the food itself is delicious and doesn’t leave much to be desired.

Yesterday I had GF toaster waffles, poached eggs, and pineapple for breakfast. Yum. For lunch, I had a salad — romaine, garbanzo beans, avocado, oil & vinegar. For dinner, the family wanted pizza (and I haven’t yet tried making a cauliflower crust!), so I went next door to the pizza place and got a Five Guys burger — no bun. Usually Five Guys leaves me feeling sooooo full, but skipping the bun seems to alleviate that a lot. For dessert, I had a So Delicious coconut ice cream pop, which totally hit the spot. I also had a glass of white wine. Very little bloating/gassiness yesterday.

(Note: I also had a multivitamin @ breakfast, and a calcium/D3 and fish oil with all three meals)

One thing I’ve noticed the last couple of days is I have slept *so much better* than usual. My nights are usually quite restless, up 2-4 times during the night, mind racing, can’t get back to sleep, etc. I couldn’t even remember what a good night’s sleep felt like. But the last couple of nights I have slept so well. The weirdest thing is I am *wide awake* at 6:30 AM, whereas usually I am dragging myself out of bed at 7:30. Clearly sleeping more restfully means I am ready to get up earlier.

The sleep could be a coincidence. It also could be a side effect of the vitamins/supplements. And it could be the removal of the dairy or gluten. Who knows??!  But I will figure it out eventually. I just really hope that this keeps up, because I love getting a good night’s sleep!!!

This morning I had Puffins Honey Rice cereal with almond milk. It wasn’t bad but wasn’t super awesome either. I wouldn’t buy it again.

I had the most enormous lunch. Two poached eggs with Sriracha, leftover lentil and buckwheat salad with sriracha, and romaine with garbanzos, avocado, and GF dressing. The different flavors went well together and it hit the spot.

For dinner, I loosely followed this recipe for Sloppy Joe’s from an apparently defunct blog. I left out the jalapeño, chili powder, and tamari, used onion powder instead of onion, and instead of tomato sauce/paste, I blended up a can of fire roasted tomatoes. (Accommodating for kids’ palates — less spicy, fewer chunks.) It was still very good, flavorful, kid-friendly, etc. The kids and husband ate it on rolls. I just ate mine in a bowl. I’m easy to please.

For dessert, I had an almond flour blueberry muffin (recipe from this book, The Immune System Recovery Plan: A Doctor’s 4-Step Program to Treat Autoimmune Disease, which I’m obsessed with). It was my first time trying almond flour, and I was pleased, but it used almost the whole bag and that shit is *expensive*!!!

I’m heading upstairs to bed now and hoping for another good night’s sleep!

This entry was posted in almond flour, dairy free, elimination diet, fish oil, gluten free, poached eggs, sleep, sloppy joes, vitamins. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gluten Free and Dairy Free — So Far, So Good

  1. I'm impressed by how much gluten free meals you were able to make. The blueberry muffins sound especially yummy!!

  2. Missy says:

    I'm just catching up on the past few blogs and I really hope you stick this out because I have noticed SO much by experimenting with elimnating things… and even though I still eat, dairy for example, it is a rare treat and when I get the bloat and headache and nasally drip I at least know what it is from. Gluten as well, but moreso when I eat lots of it and in the form of veggie burgers. The occasional sprouted wheat wrap is okay. Point is… when you know what makes you feel crappy you want it less/ can decide, for example, if you eat yogurt for breakfast one day maybe stay away from the cheese at dinner or whatever.

    Oh and trust me I HATE (D) Celery too…. UNTIL… wait for it… I roasted it.
    OMFG YUM.
    Try it now and thank me later.

  3. Christine says:

    Roasted celery? How do you do it?

  4. Cutting out dairy and gluten has helped me lots as well. I'll never return to dairy, but I'm currently trying out gluten. I plan to test different gluten grains one by one, with one serving a day. Oats are fine as I know already – sometimes I read that oats may also contain gluten although not all people who have problems with gluten have problems with oats as well). Currently I'm testing spelt, the past days I ate a spelt bread roll every day and today I want to try spelt pasta. Then wheat and rye. Barley I currently don't get in whole grain form here.

    Wishing you luck and clarity!

Leave a Reply

