Moving Forward

This is one of those mornings where I feel really crappy and regretful. See, here’s what happened. On Friday, I cooked myself a nice lunch that I felt really good about. I sautéed carrots, bok choy, basil and ginger in coconut oil. I had three leftover potato chunks with ketchup. And lastly, I had a bowl of chopped apple with cinnamon, chia seeds, and basil on top. And to drink I had a small glass of V8 Fusion (pomegranate and blueberry). Everything was light and delicious and healthy and I was feeling really good about my GF/DF lunch that I whipped up. (okay I realize there was not much protein or healthy fat but I did my best with what I had…)

About two hours later, I was DYING of the bloat. I felt like I was going to explode. It was obvious that something I ate caused this feeling, but what?

Of course the bok choy was a possibility. But Lindsay also pointed out to me that it could be fructose, and perhaps I should not eat apples or drink fruit juice.

Ugh.

This brings me to yesterday lunchtime. I haven’t gone grocery shopping in a while, and I couldn’t think of what to have for lunch. I was making my kids pb&j on whole wheat sandwich thins, and I just made myself one and ate it with pretzels. Hello, gluten!!! I din’t have any sort of reaction afterwards or feel bad at all. No bloating or anything like that. So of course, I determined gluten must not be my problem!!!

Which brings me to last night. Date night. I had the most amazing dinner. It started with none other than BREAD. And I didn’t hold back either. I had the bread with honey butter, a glass of wine, etc. I did order a dinner that was both gluten- and dairy-free at least. But they say with gluten, there is no 80/20 rule. If you’re sensitive to it, even a little bit can be damaging.

After that, I went to a party where I may or may not have had two brownies and another glass of wine.

So this morning I wake up totally feeling the effects of the wine (draggy, feel like there are spider webs in my head) and bloated as all get-out.

Whyyy??? Why did I feel like it was okay to eat whatever the heck I wanted last night?  How was this helpful at all???  Two weeks DF and a week DF/GF and I went and did that, and I totally feel it.

Anyway, moving forward. I need a plan. I have a new rash on my ankle and one on my shoulder. I’m slightly congested this morning. I really believe food is at the heart of this, I just need to figure out what it is.

I think my plan is this — continue with DF since that has already made me feel so much better. Limit gluten/wheat since I seem to have more energy without those. But really drastically cut down alcohol and sugar, as in no alcohol and not much sugar.

If that doesn’t work, it’s possible the bloating is caused by certain foods like the bok choy.

Maybe I’ll also keep a food diary, so I can start to see patterns.

Plans are good. I feel better already.

This entry was posted in bloating, dairy free, elimination diet, food diary, gluten free, nasal congestion, no will power, rash. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving Forward

  1. Missy says:

    Depending on the type of bloat, it could have been the chia seeds? Amd maybe you could be sensitive to lots of fruit and veg — that first meal had a CRAPton of fiber is what I am saying.

    Maybe that is more triggering than a PBJ — more calorie dense.

    ??

    Dont beat yourself up, this is HARD. People talk all the time about how difficult it is to go on “diets” when there ate parties or dining out and you are know different! At least you dont have to worry about calories or frat grams… just finding the time to bake and bring your own gluten free vegan brownies to the party. < --So easy with kids, I know. LOL.
    I still think it is great you are already learning.
    I hope you are writing this down because all three of these meals you learned something… they are pieces to a puzzle you havent solved yet.

  2. Aaahh, I know this so well!!! 😦 😦 😦 I think trying out things one-by-one is a good strategy basically, but it only works when you keep everything else stable. And of course there might also be interaction effects and effects of meal time which you can't control, and then it seems you tolerate a certain food in one situation and in another situation you don't. Grrrrrr!

Leave a Reply

