Food Poisoning Saga of 2013

My life has been up and down the last few weeks, but I’m finally back on track and feeling really good.

Food Poisoning

On Tuesday, May 7th, I came home from work early not feeling well. Turned out I had food poisoning. Three days of ~100-101 fever and the feeling that someone was french braiding my intestines made for a pretty awful week.

Antibiotics & Bad Reactions

Late that week, I went to the doctor and got a prescription for Metronidazole, because they thought it was bacterial. I took that for five days but on the fifth night had an unexplained panic attack which I attributed to the medicine. And of course the thing about panic attacks is that you can have one just from thinking you might have one, so the next time I took the antibiotic, it happened again. I was feeling much better at this point, so they said just stop taking it and everything will be fine. But guess what? A few days later, it was baaaackkk!!!

Antibiotics & Bad Reactions Part Deux

Went back to the doctor and was prescribed Ciprofloxacin to kill off the rest of the bacteria. But guess what? I am allergic to it. Woke up in the middle of the night with an itchy rash all over my legs and back. Called the oncall doctor (of course it was a weekend) and they said stop taking the meds and come back and call them on Monday. At this point, it didn’t seem like I had many options except probiotics and time. So I spent the weekend fretting about resistant bacteria and whether I’d be living with this misery the rest of my life. Of course. On Monday, I didn’t call them until late in the day because I just thought it would eventually get better.

Antibiotics & Cure!

So let’s just say that Monday evening, I realized things were *not good* and went to urgent care. I was literally in and out of urgent care in fifteen minutes. It was amazing! Two prescriptions in hand — one for the Metronidazole again and one for Hydroxizine HCL, a prescription antihistamine to treat the massive rash from the Cipro.

One medicine to fix the symptoms of another. This is the world I try so hard to avoid.

So for the next four days I took both medicines every 8 hours, then I was *finally* able to stop taking the antihistamine and just finish up the antibiotic. Thankfully I had absolutely no issues with anxiety this time around, which could be from the Hydroxizine (the doc said it had “calming properties”) but also because I really put my mind to believing everything was fine, the medicine was helping me, and if I let panic/anxiety keep me from taking it, I could be stuck with a bacterial infection much longer than necessary. That seemed to work. 🙂

Gratitude

I finished the antibiotics last night and am happy to say that I am feeling wonderful. The thing about antibiotics is that when they are needed, they are like magic. When I started taking them, I was *immediately* better. Not gradually — IMMEDIATELY. I hate having to take them, but I am so grateful that they were available to me and made me feel better. I think about people in the third world who don’t have clean water and fresh food all the time, and how when they get sick with something like I had, they probably die from dehydration. It’s saddening and humbling and makes me remember that despite being sick for two weeks, I am grateful and blessed.

Have a wonderful Memorial Day and take time today to remember our fallen heroes.

xo, Christine

This entry was posted in antibiotics, antibiotics allergy, ciprofloxacin, food poisoning, gratitude, hydroxizine hcl, metronidazole. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Poisoning Saga of 2013

  1. allieksmith says:

    WHEW! What a crazy medicine saga you had! I can't even imagine how you must have felt… sick and frustrated all at once. Not fun. I am so happy you're feeling better now!

  2. Missy says:

    WHAT?
    That is unreal.
    Just… not even fair after what youve alrealdy been going through.
    You must feel like a walking medical mystery.

    Glad you are feeling better though!

  3. Oh yuck, what a miserable saga–SO glad you're feeling better! I had regular old food poisoning once, no medicine reactions or allergies, and that was above and beyond one of the most unpleasant experiences of my life–so I can only imagine!

  4. Ugh, that sounds like a really hard time! 😦 I had a time of my life when I had to take antibiotics almost constantly (different ones) and it was ugly how much they put me down. Happy you're feeling better again now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

