exercising excuses

Most people who don’t exercise as much as they know they should have some kind of excuse, actually probably a list of excuses, for why they just can’t but they would if they could. I count myself among these people. I would love to exercise regularly but I just can’t find the time.

I have two young children (two boys ages three and seven) and a full-time job, and that eats up all of my time. I could get up in the morning really early and exercise, and I totally would if I only had a treadmill. But driving to the gym in the morning then getting back in time to get the kids ready for school, that’s just not possible. I could get up in the morning and do an exercise video but I’m too hungry to exercise without breakfast.

I brought a yoga mat and weights into my office but I have too many meetings plus it gets too hot and I would work out more if I had a fan in there.

Do you see where I’m going with this? It’s so easy to come up with the excuses. The excuses even make sense. My office does get too hot and stuffy when I exercise, and it would be better if I had a fan. But the truth of the matter is:

Excuses are just an attempt to justify a decision you have made!

I know that I need to exercise more, but I keep letting excuses win. My husband and I have a joint Google calendar, and I put “Christine – Gym” as a recurring Tuesday night appointment. But every Tuesday, I just don’t have the motivation. I’m too tired, the kids need me, I have housework to do…

Last night was Tuesday. My husband reminded me that I was to go to the gym. But my older son wanted to sit on the hammock with me and read Harry Potter. Let me tell you, that was an easy choice. Sit on the hammock and relax with a book and my kid versus get on a treadmill and get sweaty and exhausted and blah blah blah…

Well this morning, I woke with regret. If I can’t even get to the gym on a night where I have no excuses to speak of, clearly my own motivation is standing in the way of my success. So this morning, I decided to work from home today to give myself extra time to exercise before work. I ate breakfast then dropped my son off at camp at 8:15, put Pandora on my iphone, and started walking. I walked for three miles and it took me forty five minutes. My neighborhood is hilly, so I worked up a sweat and at times my heart was pumping pretty good.

I usually work from home about twice a week, so I really should do this every single time I work from home.  I figure that walking two mornings a week should get me back in the habit of exercise, which will hopefully result in better motivation and fewer excuses.

This entry was posted in excuses, fitness, health, motivation, walking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to exercising excuses

  1. Missy says:

    You can do it!!

    Trust me… once you get into the routine it will be a cakewalk. Even on Tuesday nights.
    Exercise is rewarding.

    I KNOW THAT I KNOW THAT I KNOW that I will feel better afterwards and STILL it does not make it any easier to jump in but I do. Every day.

  2. Christine says:

    Thanks, Missy! I'll think of you saying that next time I want to sit like a lump.

Leave a Reply

