Decluttering My Bedroom Shelves

I’m on a minimalism and simplification kick, and I have to tell you I am LOVING IT so far. Last night I took on my bedside table/shelves. My husband and I moved into our house about five years ago. We love it, but there are a few things the previous owners did to the house that I would not have chosen. One example of that is the built-in shelves in the bedroom. As soon as I looked at them five years ago, I said to myself “uh oh, clutter magnet.” And sure enough, those shelves just beg me to put things on them. Constantly.

This is what they looked like last night when I started:

Before

From the top here are the contents of the shelves:

  1. Top shelf I have two photos and an old anniversary card from my husband. 
  2. Next shelf down I have two – not one, but two – heating pads, a battery-operated candle, a years’ worth of both Real Simple and Martha Stewart Living, and a pretty blue vase that I’ve never put a flower in. 
  3. Next shelf down I have a green box filled with jewelry and a half-eaten bag of Skittles, some prescription medicine, some pretty-smelling bottles of spray stuff, another empty vase, and some paperback books.
  4. Below that we have a frame with my dangly earrings (none of which I wear), lip balm, jewelry box, another card, and a jewelry tree.
  5. On the bottom shelf we have a bunch of personal care stuff (most of which I don’t use), my iPhone charging alarm clock, tissues, a phone, and an outlet expander thingy.
  6. On the floor we have a pair of horrendous slippers that also clean the floor (no kidding), a box of junk, a laptop lap pad, and a Mac charger.
These were my favorite discards of last night’s project. First, the magazines. 
I thought this was such a great idea. I’d keep a full year of both Real Simple and Martha Stewart Living, and each month I could read that month’s magazines — who cares that they are from another year?  Great idea, but in practice I never actually looked at them.
Second was these slippers which are supposed to clean the floor as you walk around. Why do I buy this crap?
Post decluttering, here it is:
After – ahhh.
Doesn’t it look beautiful?!?! I could easily minimize this even more. On the second shelf, I don’t need the white container between the photos. The frame earring holder of earrings I don’t wear could go. The pink vase can go. But for now, this is looking so much better, and it feels so peaceful!
This entry was posted in minimalism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Decluttering My Bedroom Shelves

  1. Hahaha, I want those slippers!! 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

