The Minimalists Day 2: Planning

On Day 2, the minimalists basically say to get out a calendar and plan out the 21 day journey. So… why not? I used my Google Calendar to do this and just put their 21-day schedule in. I wasn’t sure exactly how to do this, since I don’t know if I’ll follow the plan every day, and I don’t want to find myself spending time in Google Calendar shifting things around. I’m trying to simplify my life here! So I created a two-month recurring event called “21 Days to Minimalism” and copied the 21-day plan into it.  Each time I finish one, I’ll remove it from the list, and hopefully by the time two months have gone by I’ll be done.

You know, truth be told, I’ve never been much of a planner. The word “plan” makes my palms sweat. I feel like I don’t have enough time to plan. I’m lucky I get through the day as it is. At the same time, I totally realize that if you don’t know where you’re going, you will have a harder time getting there.

Part of me feels that planning is complicated, and I’m trying to simplify my life. The other part of me realizes that if I plan things out, I can be more conscious about how I spend my time and it will actually help me to simplify and pare down. Having some plans might also help me take those things out of my mind and free up some room upstairs.

So in addition to putting the 21 day journey into my calendar, I am also going to commit to doing more planning. For example:

  • Planning my commitments: Review my calendar weekly.
  • Planning my meals: Create weekly meal plan, schedule grocery shopping days, plan when I will cook each meal, remember to defrost meat in time.
  • Planning my routines: Use my Alejandra.tv printables to ensure I stick to my daily/weekly/monthly routines. Add items to Remember the Milk app.
  • Planning my wardrobe: Ensure I have clothes picked out for the next few days, outfits planned, clothes ironed, etc.
  • Planning my chores: Use Google Calendar or Remember the Milk to ensure chores are scheduled in advance.

Of course, a plan is nothing if you don’t take action, so I’ll need to track to be sure I’m doing the necessary planning to stay on top of everything. I see little checklists with pretty stickers dancing in my mind. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

