Heart Quirks and Polar Devices

I had a great 39th birthday. Last night, my girlfriends took me out for a night of karaoke in a Korean karaoke bar. We had a private room for the six of us and just sang our faces off for over three hours. Seriously could not have been more fun.

And while I’ve been trying to practice minimalism, there was something I really wanted, and my husband and boys provided – a new Polar heart rate monitor AND AND AND the creme de la creme, the Polar Loop. The heart rate monitor is not optional for me. I have a heart… quirk, for lack of a better word. My resting heart rate is about 70, but when I exercise with moderate exertion, it goes up to 160+. If I do any serious cardio like jogging, kickboxing, or Zumba, it can go above 180 quite easily. It’s super frustrating for me, and I start to panic a little bit when I feel like my HR might be too fast, so a heart rate monitor is a great way for me to exercise and make sure I don’t let my HR get too high. (In case you’re wondering, I have seen several cardiologists over the years, had electrocardiograms, echocardiograms, worn a Holter monitor. My issue seems to be somewhat idiopathic.

So anyway, my old heart rate monitor kicked the bucket and I needed a new one. And while I was at it, I thought the Polar Loop would be a fun addition. The Loop is like a Fitbit device, in that it tracks my steps, time active and inactive during the day, measures my restful sleep and restless sleep, etc. It’s not a necessity, but I lead a fairly sedentary life since I sit in an office chair 40+ hours a week. So I know I’ll enjoy it, and hopefully it will encourage me to spend less time sitting and more time on my feet. And the best thing about the Loop is that if I wear my HR monitor while exercising, the Loop will track that and take it into account.

And for the record, the first day I wore it was yesterday, and I walked 9724 steps.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment